PDA

View Full Version : xp screensavers & desktop


lila27
12-09-2006, 07:13 PM
I was helping a friend get her new Dell pc all set up & I found that she has all these cute screensavers & desktop pics that I don't.She even has a lifelike aquarium screensaver. All of mine are just plain old stuff. My pc is only a couple of mths older than hers, so why don't I have those choices? :confused:

jill_dunk
12-09-2006, 07:16 PM
From what I understand, different brands/models come with different screensavers.

However, the big question is, why do you need a screen saver at all? It's just a waste of resources to me.

However, if you really like it and will sit and watch it, then adjust your monitor settings so as to waste fewer resources.

sharber60
12-09-2006, 07:21 PM
She probably has a Media Center PC & The Plus for XP would come with that.

Is it this one?

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/plus/screensavers.asp

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/plus/PlusHome.asp

TJB
12-09-2006, 07:27 PM
I Agree sharbar60.

My aunt has those screen savers but you can't move them to XP home. :(

sharber60
12-09-2006, 07:31 PM
I Agree sharber60.

My aunt has those screen savers but you can't move them to XP home. :(

I have XP Plus & The Media CDs all loaded on our 3 XP home PCs.
So if you buy the one CD will work on other PCs as there is no key code.
Once bought it is yours to use the way you want it.

lila27
12-09-2006, 07:40 PM
She probably has a Media Center PC & The Plus for XP would come with that.

Is it this one?

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/plus/screensavers.asp

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/plus/PlusHome.asp


Yes, you're right. She has the Media Center XP. I just have XP Home. I never really bother with screensavers but I just loved the aquarium one.It was very lifelike. Thanks for telling me.

Bear
12-09-2006, 07:44 PM
As already stated above screen savers aren't needed with todays monitors. But if you would like to downlaod a fish tank screen saver there are several located Here (http://www.google.com/search?q=Fish+tank+screen+saver&sourceid=ie7&rls=com.microsoft:en-US&ie=utf8&oe=utf8)

sharber60
12-09-2006, 08:28 PM
Yes, you're right. She has the Media Center XP. I just have XP Home. I never really bother with screensavers but I just loved the aquarium one.It was very lifelike. Thanks for telling me.

I don`t use screensavers either, but get to watch it at my Daughter`s when
I go over there. Once in awhile I will activate it, but not for long.

Dr. Tom
12-09-2006, 10:00 PM
Depends on the motherboard and/or graphics card. I got a fish tank screen saver with the software for my Epox motherboard. And I got four super screen savers with the Catalyst software that came with my graphics card in another computer. Microsoft also sells an addin for XP which has better screen savers. I forgot the name of the product, but for a while it was included with the software for many brand name computers.

Tom

lila27
12-09-2006, 10:46 PM
As already stated above screen savers aren't needed with todays monitors. But if you would like to downlaod a fish tank screen saver there are several located Here (http://www.google.com/search?q=Fish+tank+screen+saver&sourceid=ie7&rls=com.microsoft:en-US&ie=utf8&oe=utf8)

Thanks, I guess I don't really want one enough to download. My monitor goes off after 10 mins. of inactivity anyway. ;) But I did love that aquarium.lol

sirfredrico
12-09-2006, 11:12 PM
not sure if it will work. but you might be able to burn the screensavers from her system 32 folder or wherever they are, copy them to yours, then right clik them and clik install...
never tried it from one computer to another, much less 2 different operating systems..
but if i wanted them, id try it just to see...

lila27
12-10-2006, 12:32 AM
not sure if it will work. but you might be able to burn the screensavers from her system 32 folder or wherever they are, copy them to yours, then right clik them and clik install...
never tried it from one computer to another, much less 2 different operating systems..
but if i wanted them, id try it just to see...

Hmmmmm, never would have thought of that.

TJB
12-10-2006, 12:35 AM
not sure if it will work. but you might be able to burn the screensavers from her system 32 folder or wherever they are, copy them to yours, then right clik them and clik install...
never tried it from one computer to another, much less 2 different operating systems..
but if i wanted them, id try it just to see...
I've tried that but that screen saver only works on window media edition :(

DebbieR
12-10-2006, 12:44 AM
My son's Dell laptop has the Media Center XP and came with the fish aquarium screen saver. I love it, its very realistic! Would be even better with the aquarium sounds.

surferdude
12-10-2006, 03:17 AM
To Lila27, Worldstart has been offering a very lifelike fish tank aquarium off & on for quite some time. You might check it out. I personally enjoy all my screensavers & at times wish i had more.
Try to stay away from freeze.com . have heard very bad things about them.
surferdude :)

sultan_emerr
12-10-2006, 06:38 AM
http://forum.worldstart.com/showthread.php?p=1000303#post1000303

surferdude
12-11-2006, 01:45 AM
lila27, That worldstart screensaver i was talking about is here http://store.worldstart.com/product.php?productid=579&cat=159&page=1

enjoy.
surferdude :)

lila27
12-11-2006, 12:04 PM
Thanks for all the advice & info. I haven't used webshots in a long time,may check it out again. I mostly just use my own digital photos as my desktop. I decided not to bother with an aquarium screensaver after all. But I do think they're very nice. I did have one on my old pc that came with win.me, & never even used it. It wasn't as nice as the XP Media Aquarium. Since I'm never in the room with my pc unless I'm on my pc, a nice screensaver would just be wasted anyway. ;)