PDA

View Full Version : New spybot Beta


Kammy
03-18-2004, 07:01 AM
Snip from newsletter.

New SpyBot Beta
SpyBot is my favorite free Spyware removal program. A new beta
version is now available that offers enhanced detection features
along with some new elements. I've tried it on my XP laptop and
it seems quite stable. That said, it is a beta so use at your
own risk. Freeware, 4.7MB
http://www.safer-networking.org/files/spybotsd13.exe

Crockett
03-18-2004, 08:15 AM
Is that any different than this one? (http://bboard.worldstart.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=32954)

Kammy
03-18-2004, 09:27 AM
Probably not.
Don't do Beta's so haven't downloaded it to see what version # it is.....didn't see your post on this already. Sorry for the repeat.
Got the above in a newsletter this a.m. Guess the author of the newsletter was not as quick at finding this as you were. :D

Crockett
03-18-2004, 10:37 AM
I don't do beta either (usually), but in this case I know personally that he 1.3 beta 6 version of SpyBot is better than the 1.2 final version.

It might be a newer version, but I can never find the beta entries on that site so I don't know and the download just says 1.3

Kammy
03-18-2004, 10:55 AM
Wish I could get more about it for you but no can do. The newsletter didn't give any additional info. other than what I put here.
Go for it Crockett, be adventerous and download it. :eek: :D

turn_on68
03-18-2004, 05:01 PM
So do we uninstall the 1.2 version or will this go on top of it?

Kammy
03-18-2004, 05:12 PM
Lee
When "I" install ANY new program, I always uninstall the old one first.

Crockett
03-18-2004, 08:33 PM
I also always do a clean install with SpyBot. Remove 1.2 through Add/Remove Programs in the Control Panel and then manually delete any folders/files that might have been left behind in C:\Program Files\SpyBot S&D.

Kammy
I ain't tryin' nutin' 'till I know what beta version that is. :D

Dizzy313
03-18-2004, 08:37 PM
CHICKEN!











One of these days you are gonna seriously hurt me. :eek:

Crockett
03-18-2004, 08:47 PM
Hiya there Dizzy! :D

So why don't you try it then smarty pants? :p

With my luck I'll uninstall 1.3 beta 6 for 1.3 beta 6.

pesach
03-19-2004, 09:40 AM
I did not have spybot until I downloaded it based on Kammys thread .

The download went very smooth and I took it for a test spin and it seems to work quite well.

I have not run adaware yet but I will do it later today.

The program advises that there my be some conflict with it.

If I run into any problems I will advise you in this thread.

My rig is a Gateway with XP and 80 gigs and 512 ram with a 2600 processor and Intel chip set. Also dual threads {whatever that means}

turn_on68
03-19-2004, 09:44 AM
Originally posted by Kammy
Lee
When "I" install ANY new program, I always uninstall the old one first.

I decided to install it with out removing the 1.2 version. It went very smooth and all works well. I looked for the 1.2 and it has been replaced by this newer 1.3 version.