PDA

View Full Version : some pages not loading/being found


HiBeam
04-28-2006, 09:21 AM
About 3-4 months ago my browser stopped loading some pages, and often enough that it has become a nusance. (I get 'page cannot be displayed')
Can someone tell me what in my security is keeping some pages from being displayed, and how I can adjust it without compromising my security too much.
I am running Windows XP SP2 on a Compaq desktop (less than 1 yr old)
browser - IE current version
ZoneAlarm - free version
MS anti-spyware (just updated yesterday)
SpyDefence (beta)
Norton Antivirus
all my programs are up-to-date (automatically if available)
...
thanks,
Becky

HARLEY
04-28-2006, 10:24 AM
Try a browser repair or better yet use a more secure browser>>>>>>>>>>Firefox (http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/)

I.E. FIX UTILITY (http://windowsxp.mvps.org/IEFIX.htm)

Sunny
04-28-2006, 03:53 PM
Do you get an error? What pages are they? Have you tried deleting your cookies and temporary internet files?

HiBeam
04-28-2006, 11:57 PM
my browser is not broken -
I am not going to change browsers - one reason is IE is only one I can use for my business/placing orders - other is I have no problem keeping it secure - if anything, it is a bit too secure, and I don't know how to set it so it will load some pages I want to go to.

The pages I can't load are some of my invitations to do a survey pages, and some of my 'paid to read' email pages

I get this when I try to do a gozing survey - and on some of the mypoints email clicks - I have tried all the options listed - no luck
----

The page cannot be displayed
The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties, or you may need to adjust your browser settings.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please try the following:

Click the Refresh button, or try again later.

If you typed the page address in the Address bar, make sure that it is spelled correctly.

To check your connection settings, click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options. On the Connections tab, click Settings. The settings should match those provided by your local area network (LAN) administrator or Internet service provider (ISP).
See if your Internet connection settings are being detected. You can set Microsoft Windows to examine your network and automatically discover network connection settings (if your network administrator has enabled this setting).
Click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options.
On the Connections tab, click LAN Settings.
Select Automatically detect settings, and then click OK.
Some sites require 128-bit connection security. Click the Help menu and then click About Internet Explorer to determine what strength security you have installed.
If you are trying to reach a secure site, make sure your Security settings can support it. Click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options. On the Advanced tab, scroll to the Security section and check settings for SSL 2.0, SSL 3.0, TLS 1.0, PCT 1.0.
Click the Back button to try another link.



Cannot find server or DNS Error
Internet Explorer

MrBill
04-29-2006, 12:04 AM
Can you eventually get to these pages?

Sunny
04-29-2006, 06:21 AM
I agree, you do not need to change browsers. I am not sure why people suggest that every-time something is wrong in IE. Firefox and other browsers have issues too. Nothing is 100% secure on the net.
Read more about that here.

http://www.informationweek.com/story/showArticle.jhtml?articleID=160900911&pgno=1

Have you tried adjusting the settings as suggested?
Do you have a firewall or pop-up blocker that may be causing a problem getting to the sites? If so temporarily disable them and try again.
If you are using a favorites link to get to the sites try clearing your cookies and temp files and then type the address in the address bar.
Make sure you are free of spyware.

Here are some other things to try.

http://support.microsoft.com/?scid=kb;EN-US;Q175722

MrBill
04-29-2006, 09:27 AM
Cause they are SKEERED...

Phil
04-29-2006, 09:28 AM
It might help us to figure out what is happening if you supplied us with the URL(s) of the pages that won't load.

HARLEY
04-29-2006, 10:19 AM
http://forum.worldstart.com/showpost.php?p=857469&postcount=2



did you even try the IE fix I suggested or do you just feel like complaining?

HARLEY
04-29-2006, 10:22 AM
And to sunny and the other IE fanatics..............my suggestion to try another browser is to see if the same problem was occurring with it also!

Then we'd know if wasn't just an IE screwup [as usual]..........but I guess that blew right over your heads ,didn't it? :(

MrBill
04-29-2006, 10:46 AM
And to sunny and the other IE fanatics..............my suggestion to try another browser is to see if the same problem was occurring with it also!

Then we'd know if wasn't just an IE screwup [as usual]..........but I guess that blew right over your heads ,didn't it? :(
Didn't blow over my head. Mine ain't broke and never has been. I don't know how to fix something that isn't broke.

MMFELL
04-29-2006, 11:45 AM
Try this - Tools - Internet Options - Security tab - Click on Trusted Sites and put the urls in there.

Sunny
04-29-2006, 06:02 PM
Not a fanatic :) Just happen to like IE. Takes more than a browser to get me fanatical :D

HiBeam
04-30-2006, 08:29 PM
I tried all the mentioned suggestions before posting here first time - except trying with another browser - not interested in downloading/trying another browser.

here is one of the survey links that won't work--
http://jngo.net/y.z?l=http%3A%2F%2Fsurvey.otxresearch.com%2FSurvey Entry.aspx%3Fe%3D8BF44A5A-6598-42E6-8D74-EC3ACC5DECD3%26si%3D441039%26pid%3D4-28757496%26qbid%3D24332&e=468111237&p=2

here is a mypoints link that doesn't work--
http://mypoints.com/emp/u/ma.do?mt=B4yGR7BPHwOpTLkENCtFsqtAfkN2ioRU&arr=s2

thanks for all the suggestions :)
Becky

sharber60
04-30-2006, 09:15 PM
I tried all the mentioned suggestions before posting here first time - except trying with another browser - not interested in downloading/trying another browser.

here is one of the survey links that won't work--
http://jngo.net/y.z?l=http%3A%2F%2Fsurvey.otxresearch.com%2FSurvey Entry.aspx%3Fe%3D8BF44A5A-6598-42E6-8D74-EC3ACC5DECD3%26si%3D441039%26pid%3D4-28757496%26qbid%3D24332&e=468111237&p=2

here is a mypoints link that doesn't work--
http://mypoints.com/emp/u/ma.do?mt=B4yGR7BPHwOpTLkENCtFsqtAfkN2ioRU&arr=s2

thanks for all the suggestions :)
Becky

Both work fine in My IE

MyPoints members, please note: You won't see a pop-up confirmation of the Point award for this offer. Your Points will automatically be available 20 days after you complete this transaction. If at anytime you are not fully satisfied, you may cancel any time and receive a refund for the remaining portion of your subscription. Please note there is a six-week minimum ($18), which is non-refundable. To cancel your subscription, you must notify us by calling 1-888-662-1293, Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. eastern time. Points will not be awarded for refunded subscriptions.







What is your age?




What is your gender?

Male
Female



Dummy Question for Quotas - Group A, B, C and D and E
****DON'T TOUCH THE ANSWERS FOR THIS. LEAVE THE PUNCHES IN THIS ORDER!!!!****

H&G Buffs
Rolling Stones
Fun Surfers
Info Viewers
Group E






COPYRIGHT © 2000 - 2006 Online Testing Exchange

For sure only IE as tried Firefox & Opera and you are right IE only

Unexpected Error
We’re sorry, but an unexpected error has occurred. To begin the survey again, please close your browser and click on the link in the email invitation again, or copy and paste the link into Internet Explorer's address bar. We apologize for any inconvenience.

If you have any further questions, please contact us.

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion!

Phil
04-30-2006, 09:15 PM
I tried your two links and found that one is full and one needs to be signed up for. See attached.

HiBeam
04-30-2006, 09:22 PM
I tried your two links and found that one is full and one needs to be signed up for. See attached.

I took them from my trash folder, as I tossed them when I couldn't get them to work. It would be the survey one that is full, and the otherm I am signed up for it ;) but at least you were able to get something - means it must be something in my browsersecurity settings.

Becky

FOSTERHACKETT
04-30-2006, 09:55 PM
Do what MMFELL suggested it should work.

HiBeam
04-30-2006, 10:10 PM
Do what MMFELL suggested it should work.

As I stated before, have already tried before posting here :)
both those sites have been in my trusted zone for some time.
I have them listed in this format - [ https://*.mypoints.com* ]
Some of their links work, others don't - but it is enough of a problem that I believe it to be on my end.
I tried the survey one just as is, but that didn't work either.

thanks,
Becky

FOSTERHACKETT
04-30-2006, 10:20 PM
Do you have a firewall or other software that blocks the internet

HiBeam
04-30-2006, 10:29 PM
Do you have a firewall or other software that blocks the internet

yes, have ZoneAlarm personal, SpyDefense, and MicroSoft Anti-Spyware.

And yes, have tried turning these all off, didn't work :o

thanks,
Becky

FOSTERHACKETT
04-30-2006, 10:44 PM
I see that you also have Norton which also has a firewall?
Maybe conflicting with the zonealarm firewall .
The norton that I have has a firewall,spyware and virus protection.

HiBeam
04-30-2006, 10:46 PM
I have Norton SystemWorks - no firewall/spyware program in it.

FOSTERHACKETT
04-30-2006, 11:03 PM
Did this happen after an update?

HiBeam
04-30-2006, 11:07 PM
it could have, my computer is set for auto-updates.
Norton only updates anti-virus, though.

Becky

FOSTERHACKETT
04-30-2006, 11:15 PM
Have you cleaned your temp inernet files and cookies, tools /internet options
delete files/cookies/clear history

FOSTERHACKETT
04-30-2006, 11:30 PM
If that does'nt help try this winsock fix (http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_description/0,fid,25701,00.asp)

HiBeam
04-30-2006, 11:56 PM
Have you cleaned your temp inernet files and cookies, tools /internet options
delete files/cookies/clear history

yep, tried that also !
but didn't try what your little icon is doing
lol just noticed that :D

will try your next suggestion and let you know . . .

thanks,
Becky

MMFELL
05-01-2006, 03:03 AM
As I stated before, have already tried before posting here :)
both those sites have been in my trusted zone for some time.
I have them listed in this format - [ https://*.mypoints.com* ]
Some of their links work, others don't - but it is enough of a problem that I believe it to be on my end.
I tried the survey one just as is, but that didn't work either.

thanks,
Becky
The survey one is http://survey.otxresearch.com/SurveyFrame.aspx?user_id=navzozGNWyFefqLkk4kLQg%3d %3d so your trusted zone is incorrect try http://survey.otxresearch.com*
And the mypoints one is http://secure.agoramedia.com/denise/index_denise.asp?promo=A34823F4-E289-4469-8641-55CA7A101B40&email= so try http://secure.agoramedia.com*

Check Internet Options - Security tab - click on restricted sites then click on Sites button - remove anything that looks like it should not be there.

HiBeam
05-01-2006, 09:12 AM
The survey one is http://survey.otxresearch.com/SurveyFrame.aspx?user_id=navzozGNWyFefqLkk4kLQg%3d %3d so your trusted zone is incorrect try http://survey.otxresearch.com*
And the mypoints one is http://secure.agoramedia.com/denise/index_denise.asp?promo=A34823F4-E289-4469-8641-55CA7A101B40&email= so try http://secure.agoramedia.com*
Check Internet Options - Security tab - click on restricted sites then click on Sites button - remove anything that looks like it should not be there.

I did the above [needs to be https, though :) already had the survey.otxresearch one -have found thru trial&error that when adding * after the .com, need to put a / before the * for it to be 'accepted'.
Checked the restricted sites - wow! - there is a lot of stuff in there ! (including something called 'sbybotremoval.com') but nothing related to my trusted sites.
didn't work :o

I really appreciate all the suggestions given so far ~ I have learned a bit more :)

Becky

sharber60
05-01-2006, 09:21 AM
Have a look in here as another poster was having web problems and he found
the fix doing this, wouldn`t hurt to check..May not be the same..Just in case flash is the problem for the site.

I found the problem!
internet explorer
tools
internet options
content
publishers
macromedia was under untrusted publishers so it would download flash player but not install it.
everthing works now
yay!

MMFELL
05-01-2006, 10:07 AM
I did the above [needs to be https, though :) already had the survey.otxresearch one -have found thru trial&error that when adding * after the .com, need to put a / before the * for it to be 'accepted'.
Checked the restricted sites - wow! - there is a lot of stuff in there ! (including something called 'sbybotremoval.com') but nothing related to my trusted sites.
didn't work :o

I really appreciate all the suggestions given so far ~ I have learned a bit more :)

BeckyReplace the :http or :https with * and the ones you posted are not secure so https does not apply. The usual coding is http for normal stuff and https for secure sites. Do you have spybot and immunised yourself? Do you have a anti-malware program like spybot or adaware running, an example would be teatime?

HiBeam
05-01-2006, 10:14 AM
checked -not the problem

Barbara Parker
05-01-2006, 10:22 AM
Becky,

My browser does that too alot. I find that if I hit the refresh button, sometimes two or three times, the pages load. Maybe this is too simple, but I found it works!

HiBeam
05-01-2006, 10:24 AM
tried that too :)

MMFELL
05-01-2006, 10:52 AM
I think the problem could be SpyDefence and whats its placed into your restricted zone. Try this - Tools - Internet options - Security - Restricted sites - Custom Level button and enable everything. If it works then we have at least narrowed it down but then we will have to determine what next to do. Personally I would remove it and substitute more well known products like Spybot and adaware I dont trust software from the Ukraine!

Finally do a search for file hosts (it has no extension) in your C drive and if found open the file using Notepad and do Save As and post the file back here. You may find 2 files and you will have to search hidden and system files as one is usually stored in windows\system32\drivers\etc

HiBeam
05-01-2006, 11:27 AM
I think the problem could be SpyDefence and whats its placed into your restricted zone. Try this - Tools - Internet options - Security - Restricted sites - Custom Level button and enable everything. If it works then we have at least narrowed it down but then we will have to determine what next to do. Personally I would remove it and substitute more well known products like Spybot and adaware I dont trust software from the Ukraine!

Finally do a search for file hosts (it has no extension) in your C drive and if found open the file using Notepad and do Save As and post the file back here. You may find 2 files and you will have to search hidden and system files as one is usually stored in windows\system32\drivers\etc

OK, I completely removed SpyDefense, and still can't load the pages mentioned. I am going to re-install it later, becuase it has found things that adaware and Spybot have not - I have been using adaware for several years, and spybot for 2-3 yrs, and always run them first, in that order.
I will do the search now for the file hosts . . .

FOSTERHACKETT
05-01-2006, 04:40 PM
This may add some light to the problem Click here (http://www.generation.net/~hleboeuf/index.htm)

MMFELL
05-01-2006, 06:36 PM
Maybe look at this article https://www.netscum.dk/technet/prodtechnol/winxppro/maintain/mangxpsp2/mngieps.mspx When did you apply SP2?

HiBeam
05-01-2006, 06:46 PM
I went to the sight mentioned by FOSTERHACKETT-
My mind got kinda lost and fuddled in there -

I downed SP2 back about a week after it came out - long enough to read the reviews, then decided to go for it. Have had no problems with it.

Becky

FOSTERHACKETT
05-01-2006, 10:11 PM
There is alot to see there but I found this to be the one that I thought you should look at Click (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q301455) in other words what internet explorer do you have. You may need to update

HiBeam
05-01-2006, 11:15 PM
I am using v. 6.0.2900.2180.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519
Have read reviews on v.7 beta, am not ready to update to that.

Becky

FOSTERHACKETT
05-02-2006, 07:43 PM
Go to Control Panel\Internet Options\Programs\and Click on "Restore Web
Settings" This should work :)

MMFELL
05-02-2006, 08:15 PM
At my wits end here but found this (http://castlecops.com/posts147377-0.html) method of removing all entries in restricted zones.
Then please download DelDomains.inf (http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/DelDomains.inf) , made by Winhelp2002.- Right-click and select: Save Target As
To use: right-click and select: Install (no need to restart)
Note: This will remove all entries in the "Trusted Zone" and "Ranges" also.

Note, if you use SpywareBlaster and or IESpyad, it will be necessary to re-install the protection both provide. For SpywareBlaster, run the program and 're-enable all protection'. For IESpyad, run the batch file and reinstall the protection. So it might be a good idea to try that.