#1  
Old 08-16-2012, 08:35 AM
sugee's Avatar
sugee sugee is offline
I'm here to learn
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 3,278
Angry Java troubles

I am having a problem on some sites with java
I play scrabble on thru facebook(LEXULOUS) suddenly I when I try to to bring up the actual game I get a message..click here to activate plugin.. see imageshack below
I also l play a few games on "Pocket Monkey" where I did have trouble with java but that seems to work fine now
how do I solve the java problem

thanks

http://img844.imageshack.us/img844/5138/javaql.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Attached Images
File Type: jpg JAVA.jpg (6.2 KB, 4282 views)
__________________





HP laptop g7-2010nr
Processor 2.3 GHz Core i3-2350M
RAM 6 GB SDRAM----Hard Drive 640 GB
Wind7 Home Premium 64-bit--Intel Processor

windows firewall----avast-free
Malwarebytes----SpywareBlaster
FireFox 32.0.3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-16-2012, 08:55 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 37,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by sugee View Post
I am having a problem on some sites with java
I play scrabble on thru facebook(LEXULOUS) suddenly I when I try to to bring up the actual game I get a message..click here to activate plugin
I also l play a few games on "Pocket Monkey" where I did have trouble with java but that seems to work fine now
how do I solve the java problem

thanks

http://img844.imageshack.us/img844/5138/javaql.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Hi sugee, Is this in Firefox? If so, open Firefox. Click the tools menu > addons. Click plugins on the left and make sure Java is enabled.
If it is enabled try suggestions here.
http://java.com/en/download/help/enable_browser.xml

Could also be a problem with an add-on. What add-on's do you have installed?
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-16-2012, 09:01 AM
sugee's Avatar
sugee sugee is offline
I'm here to learn
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 3,278
thanks for quick response Sunny
java deployment and java platform must be enabled as it gives me the option to disable
__________________





HP laptop g7-2010nr
Processor 2.3 GHz Core i3-2350M
RAM 6 GB SDRAM----Hard Drive 640 GB
Wind7 Home Premium 64-bit--Intel Processor

windows firewall----avast-free
Malwarebytes----SpywareBlaster
FireFox 32.0.3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-16-2012, 09:07 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 37,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by sugee View Post
thanks for quick response Sunny
java deployment and java platform must be enabled as it gives me the option to disable
You're welcome sugee, see the link I posted. What addons do you have installed?
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-2012, 09:07 AM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 30,941
sugee, is this with Firefox? I often have trouble with Words with Friends on Facebook using Firefox.
Have tried all suggestions given virtually everywhere and for some reason sometimes it just doesn't work all the time with Firefox. Every plugin is up to date, Firefox is up to date, have tried Safe Mode Firefox and enabled addons and plugins one at a time, updated all of them, etc.
One time it works, next time it doesn't.
It is the only game, though I only play two others, I cannot play all the time using Firefox.
I use Maxthon browser or IE when playing that game only when encountering problems in Firefox and it works fine in both.
Obviously there is "something" with Firefox that just doesn't like this type of game.
Know this doesn't solve your problem but wanted you to know that you are not alone.
__________________

1. Dell Inspiron N5040;
Windows 7 64bit SP1
Firefox v.33, IE11;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-16-2012, 09:11 AM
sugee's Avatar
sugee sugee is offline
I'm here to learn
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 3,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny View Post
You're welcome sugee, see the link I posted. What addons do you have installed?
Sunny is ther a way to get just a list of addons
too many to type here
__________________





HP laptop g7-2010nr
Processor 2.3 GHz Core i3-2350M
RAM 6 GB SDRAM----Hard Drive 640 GB
Wind7 Home Premium 64-bit--Intel Processor

windows firewall----avast-free
Malwarebytes----SpywareBlaster
FireFox 32.0.3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-16-2012, 09:13 AM
sugee's Avatar
sugee sugee is offline
I'm here to learn
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 3,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by jholland1964 View Post
sugee, is this with Firefox? I always have trouble with Words with Friends on Facebook using Firefox.
Have tried all suggestions given virtually everywhere and for some reason it just doesn't work with Firefox. It is the only game, though I only play two others, I cannot play using Firefox.
I use Maxthon browser or IE when playing that game only and it works fine in both.
Obviously there is "something" with Firefox that just doesn't like this type of game.
Know this doesn't solve your problem but wanted you to know that you are not alone.
Judy I have been playing for years and never had a problem with this app I did have problem with "words with friends" and do play that on IE I am also having a problem playing LEXULOUS in IE
__________________





HP laptop g7-2010nr
Processor 2.3 GHz Core i3-2350M
RAM 6 GB SDRAM----Hard Drive 640 GB
Wind7 Home Premium 64-bit--Intel Processor

windows firewall----avast-free
Malwarebytes----SpywareBlaster
FireFox 32.0.3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-16-2012, 09:56 AM
sugee's Avatar
sugee sugee is offline
I'm here to learn
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 3,278
sunny I disabled all my addons but it didnt solve the problem
I still had to click on the "click here" in order to play
__________________





HP laptop g7-2010nr
Processor 2.3 GHz Core i3-2350M
RAM 6 GB SDRAM----Hard Drive 640 GB
Wind7 Home Premium 64-bit--Intel Processor

windows firewall----avast-free
Malwarebytes----SpywareBlaster
FireFox 32.0.3
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-16-2012, 10:03 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 37,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by sugee View Post
Sunny is ther a way to get just a list of addons
too many to type here
Sugee, yes there is an add-on called Extension List Dumper.
Go to the site below using Firefox and then install the extension. After you install it restart Firefox. Then click the tools menu > add-ons.
At the top of that window now you should see a dump list button. Click that. Then click copy to clipboard. The list will be copied to the clipboard. You can then paste that into your post here.
Before doing that did you go to the link I posted and try the suggestions there? If not try that first and post back.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/fir...n-list-dumper/
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-16-2012, 10:15 AM
sugee's Avatar
sugee sugee is offline
I'm here to learn
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 3,278
my java plugin is enabled
-----------------------------------
Application: Firefox 14.0.1 (20120713134347)
Operating System: WINNT (x86-msvc)

Total number of items: 14

- Foxit Reader Plugin for Mozilla 2.2.1.530 (Disabled)
Foxit Reader Plug-In For Firefox and Netscape
- Google Earth Plugin 6.1.0.5001 (Disabled)
GEPlugin
- Google Update 1.3.21.115 (Disabled)
Google Update
- IE Tab Plug-in 2.2.0.1
IE Tab 2 Plug-in for Mozilla/Firefox
- Java Deployment Toolkit 7.0.60.24 10.6.2.24
NPRuntime Script Plug-in Library for Java(TM) Deploy
- Java(TM) Platform SE 7 U6 10.6.2.24
Next Generation Java Plug-in 10.6.2 for Mozilla browsers
- Microsoft® Windows Media Player Firefox Plugin 1.0.0.8 (Disabled)
np-mswmp
- Shockwave Flash 11.3.300.271
Shockwave Flash 11.3 r300
- Shockwave for Director 11.6.6.636
Adobe Shockwave for Director Netscape plug-in, version 11.6.6.636
- Shockwave for Director 11.6.5.635
Adobe Shockwave for Director Netscape plug-in, version 11.6.5.635
- Silverlight Plug-In 5.1.10411.0
5.1.10411.0
- Virtual Earth 3D 4.00090316005 plugin for Mozilla 4.0.903.16005 (Disabled)
Virtual Earth 3D 4.00090316005 plugin for Mozilla
- VLC Web Plugin 2.0.2.0 (Disabled)
VLC media player Web Plugin 2.0.2
- Windows Live® Photo Gallery 14.0.8081.709 (Disabled)
NPWLPG
__________________





HP laptop g7-2010nr
Processor 2.3 GHz Core i3-2350M
RAM 6 GB SDRAM----Hard Drive 640 GB
Wind7 Home Premium 64-bit--Intel Processor

windows firewall----avast-free
Malwarebytes----SpywareBlaster
FireFox 32.0.3
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-16-2012, 10:21 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 37,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by sugee View Post
my java plugin is enabled
-----------------------------------
Application: Firefox 14.0.1 (20120713134347)
Operating System: WINNT (x86-msvc)

Total number of items: 14

- Foxit Reader Plugin for Mozilla 2.2.1.530 (Disabled)
Foxit Reader Plug-In For Firefox and Netscape
- Google Earth Plugin 6.1.0.5001 (Disabled)
GEPlugin
- Google Update 1.3.21.115 (Disabled)
Google Update
- IE Tab Plug-in 2.2.0.1
IE Tab 2 Plug-in for Mozilla/Firefox
- Java Deployment Toolkit 7.0.60.24 10.6.2.24
NPRuntime Script Plug-in Library for Java(TM) Deploy
- Java(TM) Platform SE 7 U6 10.6.2.24
Next Generation Java Plug-in 10.6.2 for Mozilla browsers
- Microsoft® Windows Media Player Firefox Plugin 1.0.0.8 (Disabled)
np-mswmp
- Shockwave Flash 11.3.300.271
Shockwave Flash 11.3 r300
- Shockwave for Director 11.6.6.636
Adobe Shockwave for Director Netscape plug-in, version 11.6.6.636
- Shockwave for Director 11.6.5.635
Adobe Shockwave for Director Netscape plug-in, version 11.6.5.635
- Silverlight Plug-In 5.1.10411.0
5.1.10411.0
- Virtual Earth 3D 4.00090316005 plugin for Mozilla 4.0.903.16005 (Disabled)
Virtual Earth 3D 4.00090316005 plugin for Mozilla
- VLC Web Plugin 2.0.2.0 (Disabled)
VLC media player Web Plugin 2.0.2
- Windows Live® Photo Gallery 14.0.8081.709 (Disabled)
NPWLPG

Try reinstalling Java
Go here using Firefox.

http://java.com/en/

Reinstall, reboot and try again.

Also reinstall Adobe Flash Player.
See my blog here for instructions on how to uninstall and reinstall Flash Player.
http://adobeflashplayer-shelly.blogspot.com/
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog

Last edited by Sunny; 08-16-2012 at 10:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-16-2012, 11:07 AM
sugee's Avatar
sugee sugee is offline
I'm here to learn
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 3,278
reinstalled, rebooted...still the same
__________________





HP laptop g7-2010nr
Processor 2.3 GHz Core i3-2350M
RAM 6 GB SDRAM----Hard Drive 640 GB
Wind7 Home Premium 64-bit--Intel Processor

windows firewall----avast-free
Malwarebytes----SpywareBlaster
FireFox 32.0.3
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-16-2012, 12:23 PM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 37,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by sugee View Post
reinstalled, rebooted...still the same
Sugee, did you reinstall both Java and Flash Player?
Try this. Open Firefox and disable all add-on's except for Flash Player and Java. Restart Firefox and try Facebook again. If that solves the problem it is one of the add-on's causing the issue. You can re-enable one add-on at a time and then try Facebook again until you find the add-on that is causing the problem.

Also clear your Firefox cache.

Also use extension list dumper and this time post a list of your extensions. I believe the last list only shows plug-in's. You would open Firefox. Click the tools menu > addons. Click extensions on the left and then click the dump list button. Copy to clipboard and paste into your post here.

It may be that you are better off using IE for Facebook. You are not the only person having these kinds of issues. It seems Firefox and Facebook don't always play well together.

Also see these suggestions.

http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/...-chat-and-more

http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/...be-and-webmail
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog

Last edited by Sunny; 08-16-2012 at 12:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-16-2012, 12:47 PM
sugee's Avatar
sugee sugee is offline
I'm here to learn
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 3,278
I I will try disabling exts
__________________





HP laptop g7-2010nr
Processor 2.3 GHz Core i3-2350M
RAM 6 GB SDRAM----Hard Drive 640 GB
Wind7 Home Premium 64-bit--Intel Processor

windows firewall----avast-free
Malwarebytes----SpywareBlaster
FireFox 32.0.3
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-16-2012, 12:54 PM
sugee's Avatar
sugee sugee is offline
I'm here to learn
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 3,278
Application: Firefox 14.0.1 (20120713134347)
Operating System: WINNT (x86-msvc)

- Adblock Plus 2.1.2 (Disabled)
- avast! WebRep 7.0.1456 (Disabled)
- BetterPrivacy 1.68 (Disabled)
- CacheViewer Fx6 0.9 (Disabled)
- CheckPlaces 2.6.2 (Disabled)
- Clear Cache Button 0.9f (Disabled)
- Compact Menu 2 4.3.1 (Disabled)
- Cookie Monster 1.1.0 (Disabled)
- deskCut 0.6.0.3 (Disabled)
- DownloadHelper 4.9.9 (Disabled)
- Extension List Dumper 1.15.2
- Flashblock 1.5.15.1 (Disabled)
- Forecastfox 2.2.1 (Disabled)
- IE Tab 2 (FF 3.6+) 4.1.3.1 (Disabled)
- IE View 1.5.1 (Disabled)
- InFormEnter 0.6.3 (Disabled)
- KeyScrambler 2.9.2.0 (Disabled)
- Menu Editor 1.2.7 (Disabled)
- NoScript 2.5.1 (Disabled)
- NoSquint 2.1.5 (Disabled)
- Open Profile Folder 1.3.3 (Disabled)
- Password Exporter 1.2.1 (Disabled, Incompatible)
- Remove New Tab Button 1.0 (Disabled)
- Saved Password Editor 2.6.3 (Disabled)
- Tab Mix Plus 0.4.0.3 (Disabled)
- Theme Font & Size Changer 6.1 (Disabled)
- TinyURL Generator 2.5.1 (Disabled)
- Toolbar Buttons 1.0 (Disabled)
- WOT 20120515 (Disabled)
__________________





HP laptop g7-2010nr
Processor 2.3 GHz Core i3-2350M
RAM 6 GB SDRAM----Hard Drive 640 GB
Wind7 Home Premium 64-bit--Intel Processor

windows firewall----avast-free
Malwarebytes----SpywareBlaster
FireFox 32.0.3
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-16-2012, 01:02 PM
sugee's Avatar
sugee sugee is offline
I'm here to learn
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 3,278
not solved

I also have problem when I go to he Java test page I have to click enable java
so I don't think going to IE for game will solve FF problem
__________________





HP laptop g7-2010nr
Processor 2.3 GHz Core i3-2350M
RAM 6 GB SDRAM----Hard Drive 640 GB
Wind7 Home Premium 64-bit--Intel Processor

windows firewall----avast-free
Malwarebytes----SpywareBlaster
FireFox 32.0.3
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-16-2012, 01:10 PM
sugee's Avatar
sugee sugee is offline
I'm here to learn
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 3,278
Have to do some food shopping or hubby will starve (haha)
will be back in an hour or so
thanks fo much for your time and effort It is greatly appreciated see you later.... I hope
__________________





HP laptop g7-2010nr
Processor 2.3 GHz Core i3-2350M
RAM 6 GB SDRAM----Hard Drive 640 GB
Wind7 Home Premium 64-bit--Intel Processor

windows firewall----avast-free
Malwarebytes----SpywareBlaster
FireFox 32.0.3
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-16-2012, 02:22 PM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 37,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by sugee View Post
not solved

I also have problem when I go to he Java test page I have to click enable java
so I don't think going to IE for game will solve FF problem
Sugee, when you say you have trouble on the Java test page, what happens exactly?
I did not mean that using IE would solve your problems with Firefox and Facebook. I meant that you can use IE instead of Firefox. Did you try suggestions from the links I posted?

You might also try completely uninstalling Firefox, Java and Flash Player. If you do uninstall Firefox you will want to uninstall completely. See link below. Sometimes when you are having an issue like this completely uninstalling and reinstalling can solve the problem. You will want to backup your bookmarks before uninstalling.

But tell me what happens on the Java test page first and let me know if you tried all suggestions from the links.

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Uninstalli...fox#On_Windows
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog

Last edited by Sunny; 08-16-2012 at 02:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-16-2012, 02:26 PM
billm65's Avatar
billm65 billm65 is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,876
This may lead you to some help...

http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/...lated%20issues
__________________
BILL
HP Envy
Windows 8.1
8GB RAm
1 TB HD
____________
Mankind will never see an end of trouble until... lovers of wisdom come to hold political power, or the holders of power... become lovers of wisdom. (Quote by - Plato)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-16-2012, 03:16 PM
Wrong #'s Avatar
Wrong # Wrong # is offline
Member being informed
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,961
I just went here again: http://www.examulator.com/moodle/mod...view.php?id=17

I don't use JAVA and haven't for some time, as if I remember right someone in WS said to disable/delete JAVA, and maybe I don't go to the sites that you do, but I have no problems in the sites that I do go to. And I'm in Face Book several times a day, although I don't play games there.
__________________
In Memory of.
http://photobucket.com/Wrong-Number
Password is WorldStart

Edit:SYX Venture SBM3 Desktop PC - Intel® Core i3 2120 3.3 GHz, Genuine Windows® 7 Professional 64 Bit, 4GB DDR3, 500 GB HDD, DVDRW, 15-in-1 Card Reader, 120G external Seagate HD, 15Mb Cable, Fire Fox v.20
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2011 WorldStart, Inc