#1  
Old 02-17-2017, 10:32 AM
BigBarney's Avatar
BigBarney BigBarney is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 5,932
Firefox tabs

I use Firefox as my default browser both on my home machine and on another machine in my club office.
Both machines are running Windows 10.
The office machine has a pretty poor CPU and struggles to run Firefox with numerous tabs open.
The computer is an HP Slimline 411-a005na with Intel(R)Celeron(R)CPU N3050@1.60GHz and 8GB RAM 64BIT.

In order to speed things up a bit, I removed all tabs except one on the office machine and set the one remaining tab as my home page.
Now I find that all my tabs except that one have disappeared from my home machine too!
Is there some sort of interconnection between the two machines?
Do I have to set up two different Firefox profiles?
If so, how do I do that?
__________________
HP Pavilion 500-120ea, intel core i5-4440 CPU 3.10GHz,
12GB RAM, 1TB HD,
Windows 10(64 bit),
Firefox 52.0.2, Norton Security Deluxe 22.9.1.12


GLASGOW,
SCOTLAND
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2017, 10:51 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 40,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBarney View Post
I use Firefox as my default browser both on my home machine and on another machine in my club office.
Both machines are running Windows 10.
The office machine has a pretty poor CPU and struggles to run Firefox with numerous tabs open.
The computer is an HP Slimline 411-a005na with Intel(R)Celeron(R)CPU N3050@1.60GHz and 8GB RAM 64BIT.

In order to speed things up a bit, I removed all tabs except one on the office machine and set the one remaining tab as my home page.
Now I find that all my tabs except that one have disappeared from my home machine too!
Is there some sort of interconnection between the two machines?
Do I have to set up two different Firefox profiles?
If so, how do I do that?
If you have a Firefox account and you have sync setup that will happen.
Click the tools menu and then you will see the option to sign in and sync. If you have that enabled tabs, bookmarks, history, etc. will be synced across all browsers you have connected. Tablet, phone and computer.
Read more here.
https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/sync/

Very handy to have if that is what you want. I use it to sync Firefox on my phone, ipad and 2 computers.
You can sync only the browsers you want.
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog

Last edited by Sunny; 02-17-2017 at 10:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2017, 10:58 AM
BigBarney's Avatar
BigBarney BigBarney is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 5,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny View Post
If you have a Firefox account and you have sync setup that will happen.
Click the tools menu and then you will see the option to sign in and sync. If you have that enabled tabs, bookmarks, history, etc. will be synced across all browsers you have connected. Tablet, phone and computer.
Read more here.
https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/sync/

Very handy to have if that is what you want. I use it to sync Firefox on my phone, ipad and 2 computers.
You can sync only the browsers you want.
Thanks Sunny,
I did a bit of sniffing around since I posted and think I may have sorted it.
See my attachment.........is that all I need to do?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Ashampoo_Snap_2017.02.17_16h53m41s_001_.jpg (78.9 KB, 35 views)
__________________
HP Pavilion 500-120ea, intel core i5-4440 CPU 3.10GHz,
12GB RAM, 1TB HD,
Windows 10(64 bit),
Firefox 52.0.2, Norton Security Deluxe 22.9.1.12


GLASGOW,
SCOTLAND
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2017, 11:07 AM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 35,891
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBarney View Post
I did a bit of sniffing around since I posted and think I may have sorted it.
See my attachment.........is that all I need to do?
Just looking through multiple Mozilla links and yes, that appears to be all you need to do.
https://support.mozilla.org/t5/Sync-...fox/ta-p/21996
__________________

1.Dell Inspiron 17 5759
Windows 10 64bit
Firefox v.54.0. ;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Laptop Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2017, 12:16 PM
BigBarney's Avatar
BigBarney BigBarney is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 5,932
Thanks Sunny and Judy..........
__________________
HP Pavilion 500-120ea, intel core i5-4440 CPU 3.10GHz,
12GB RAM, 1TB HD,
Windows 10(64 bit),
Firefox 52.0.2, Norton Security Deluxe 22.9.1.12


GLASGOW,
SCOTLAND
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-17-2017, 12:28 PM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 40,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBarney View Post
Thanks Sunny,
I did a bit of sniffing around since I posted and think I may have sorted it.
See my attachment.........is that all I need to do?
You're welcome Barney and yes, you can choose what you do and do not want to sync. Apply the setting on all devices and computers and then restart Firefox on each.
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-17-2017, 12:30 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 35,891
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBarney View Post
Thanks Sunny and Judy..........
You're welcome.
__________________

1.Dell Inspiron 17 5759
Windows 10 64bit
Firefox v.54.0. ;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Laptop Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2011 WorldStart, Inc