#21  
Old 12-01-2014, 11:05 AM
Ahduncu Ahduncu is offline
Major Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 901
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotmale1943 View Post
I've got an LG laptop with XP.
I have Zorin9 on a flash drive, also an ISO file on disk.When I boot to USB or CD/DVD, I get a message, No Media file found.
Then a DOS like screen opens with a flashing cursor to enter commands.
How can I overcome this to install Zorin.
I also ran Dban and still have the same message. No media file found.
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOSTERHACKETT View Post
What menu key are you using ?
You need to change the bio settings to boot from the Cd.
I am not sure about an LG Laptop as to which key it would be but it should tell you on your screen at boot up.
I have a Lenovo laptop and I need to click F12 to change my boot up, this is done when you restart or start your computer. Each manufacturer uses a different key.
__________________
Lenovo E520
Intel Core i3
Windows 10 Professional
4 GB Ram
320 GB Hard Drive
Google Chrome Preferred Browser
BitDefender Free
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-01-2014, 04:14 PM
oldngrey's Avatar
oldngrey oldngrey is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOSTERHACKETT View Post
What menu key are you using ?
You need to change the bio settings to boot from the Cd.
I am not sure about an LG Laptop as to which key it would be but it should tell you on your screen at boot up.
I have set to boot to CD, and also to boot to USB.
Both boot ups come up with no media found.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-01-2014, 07:00 PM
FOSTERHACKETT's Avatar
FOSTERHACKETT FOSTERHACKETT is offline
Linux Operative
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Out There
Posts: 2,092
Put the Media in the computer > restart computer it should boot from the cd or USB drive whatever you have selected..
__________________
Computer: Dell 4700
OS -Linux Mint 18 Sarah
Cinnamon 3.0
4 gigs of Ram
300 gig Hard Drive
Firefox
Chromium
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-01-2014, 08:35 PM
oldngrey's Avatar
oldngrey oldngrey is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOSTERHACKETT View Post
Put the Media in the computer > restart computer it should boot from the cd or USB drive whatever you have selected..
This is what I have done.
I keep getting No media found and a dos like screen with flashing cursor.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-01-2014, 10:00 PM
FOSTERHACKETT's Avatar
FOSTERHACKETT FOSTERHACKETT is offline
Linux Operative
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Out There
Posts: 2,092
What is on the media you are trying to boot from? (ISO) and what did you use to burn it with?
Post 18 said you were successful?
__________________
Computer: Dell 4700
OS -Linux Mint 18 Sarah
Cinnamon 3.0
4 gigs of Ram
300 gig Hard Drive
Firefox
Chromium
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-02-2014, 12:47 AM
oldngrey's Avatar
oldngrey oldngrey is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOSTERHACKETT View Post
What is on the media you are trying to boot from? (ISO) and what did you use to burn it with?
Post 18 said you were successful?
This is a different laptop.
I'm using the same disk and flash drive I used on the other laptop.
Pressing F12 to select boot menu.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-02-2014, 07:05 AM
FOSTERHACKETT's Avatar
FOSTERHACKETT FOSTERHACKETT is offline
Linux Operative
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Out There
Posts: 2,092
What brand laptop do you have?
It is probably a different function key than F12 might be F2.....
__________________
Computer: Dell 4700
OS -Linux Mint 18 Sarah
Cinnamon 3.0
4 gigs of Ram
300 gig Hard Drive
Firefox
Chromium
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-02-2014, 08:26 PM
oldngrey's Avatar
oldngrey oldngrey is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOSTERHACKETT View Post
What brand laptop do you have?
It is probably a different function key than F12 might be F2.....
its a LG Model LS 50

F12 for boot menu
F2 for BIOS
I put in the disk and reboot.
This is what comes up.
Starting Caldera DR-DOS 7.03
Copyright {c} 1976, 1998 Caldera, Inc. All rights reserved.
I've tried all settings .
Still no media found.
Them DOS commands required.IE [DR-DOS A:\>
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-03-2014, 02:07 PM
FOSTERHACKETT's Avatar
FOSTERHACKETT FOSTERHACKETT is offline
Linux Operative
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Out There
Posts: 2,092
Have you tried changing the boot sequence in the BIOS?
__________________
Computer: Dell 4700
OS -Linux Mint 18 Sarah
Cinnamon 3.0
4 gigs of Ram
300 gig Hard Drive
Firefox
Chromium
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-03-2014, 05:13 PM
oldngrey's Avatar
oldngrey oldngrey is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOSTERHACKETT View Post
Have you tried changing the boot sequence in the BIOS?
Yes I have, I'l take out the hard drive and dump it.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 12-05-2014, 06:43 AM
FOSTERHACKETT's Avatar
FOSTERHACKETT FOSTERHACKETT is offline
Linux Operative
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Out There
Posts: 2,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldngrey View Post
its a LG Model LS 50

F12 for boot menu
F2 for BIOS
I put in the disk and reboot.
This is what comes up.
Starting Caldera DR-DOS 7.03
Copyright {c} 1976, 1998 Caldera, Inc. All rights reserved.
I've tried all settings .
Still no media found.
Them DOS commands required.IE [DR-DOS A:\>
I'm not "an expert" in DR-DOS. However, ...
Caldera DR-DOS is a BIOS monitor program that runs from ROM. It will be invoked if your system can't find a disk to boot from. Appearently your machine is unable to find a bootable disk so it defaults to the DR-DOS in ROM.

You need to check the CD-ROM drive to make sure it's working properly. It might be that the device controller isn't seeing the drive. You may have a scratched CD. Or, you possibly didn't set up the BIOS to boot from CD-ROM correctly.
__________________
Computer: Dell 4700
OS -Linux Mint 18 Sarah
Cinnamon 3.0
4 gigs of Ram
300 gig Hard Drive
Firefox
Chromium
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2011 WorldStart, Inc