#1  
Old 03-14-2014, 04:04 PM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 40,140
Managing Startup Programs

Startup programs are programs that load and run in the background every time you start your computer. Many times when you install software on your computer the programs are added to the startup list. Some programs you need to run at startup, for example your anti-virus software. But most programs do not need to load and run each time you boot your computer. If you want to use a program you simply open the program and run it when needed. Each one of the programs running in the background uses system resources and can potentially cause a conflict with other programs you have installed. Go to the links below and read more about startup programs and which are safe to disable. Then use the lists provided on those pages to lookup the programs that are running on your computer and eliminate what is unnecessary. Eliminating startup programs will improve boot time, speed up your computer, use fewer system resources and leave less room for conflict.

http://www.pacs-portal.co.uk/
http://www.3feetunder.com/krick/startup/list.html
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/startups/

There are third party utilities you can install to manage startup programs.

Autoruns is a comprehensive program that shows you what is loading at startup and allows you to disable programs that are unnecessary. It is a powerful program so be sure to read the directions on the site before using the program.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/s.../bb963902.aspx

Instructions on how to use Autoruns
http://www.top-windows-tutorials.com/autoruns.html

Autoruns user forum
http://forum.sysinternals.com/

Startup Control Panel is another free utility that will allow you to manage startup programs.
http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/deta...e_version.html
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog

Last edited by Sunny; 03-14-2014 at 04:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-2014, 04:55 PM
currytoys's Avatar
currytoys currytoys is offline
Still Learning!
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 516
Many Thanks Sunny,
I will have her do exactly as you instructed.

Sandy...
__________________
Windows 10 Home Quad Core Dell XPS 630i
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2014, 02:34 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 40,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by currytoys View Post
Many Thanks Sunny,
I will have her do exactly as you instructed.

Sandy...
You're welcome Sandy.
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2014, 02:03 AM
Bazcaz's Avatar
Bazcaz Bazcaz is offline
Epic Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 2,154
Thanks for the links...good stuff
__________________
Centre Com 'Pro i7 v2' Desktop
Intel Core i7 7700 CPU, 16GB RAM, H110M Motherboard, 240GB SSD + 1TB HDD, DVD Drive, 350W 80+ PSU, Wireless N300, Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2014, 02:06 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 40,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bazcaz View Post
Thanks for the links...good stuff
You're welcome Bazcaz. Have a nice weekend.
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-2014, 08:42 PM
Emory 10046's Avatar
Emory 10046 Emory 10046 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 308
Links are great - thanks Sunny.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-06-2014, 02:13 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 40,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emory 10046 View Post
Links are great - thanks Sunny.
You're welcome Emory. Glad you found it helpful. Have a nice weekend.
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-06-2014, 06:16 AM
bearcat31 bearcat31 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 388
Thanks for this info, Sunny. Very useful. I have several 'Shortcuts' on my Desktop for Programs I use a lot. Do these shortcuts take up a lot of time of 'show up' and be available when I want to use them? They aren't really 'Open', are they?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-06-2014, 08:28 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 40,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearcat31 View Post
Thanks for this info, Sunny. Very useful. I have several 'Shortcuts' on my Desktop for Programs I use a lot. Do these shortcuts take up a lot of time of 'show up' and be available when I want to use them? They aren't really 'Open', are they?
You're welcome. Shortcuts on your desktop have nothing to do with startup programs and will not slow your computer down. Shortcuts on your desktop are just that, shortcuts to programs, internet sites, locations on your computer, etc. They are just links that point to the actual program, site or place.

A startup program is different. When a program loads at startup it loads and runs in the background without you really seeing it. When a program loads at startup the program may not be open for you to see but it is running in the background using resources. That is why it is best to manage those programs and only load what is necessary at startup.
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-06-2014, 09:04 AM
bearcat31 bearcat31 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 388
Thank you, Sunny. Appreciate the info.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-06-2014, 09:22 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 40,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearcat31 View Post
Thank you, Sunny. Appreciate the info.
You're welcome. Have a nice weekend.
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-23-2016, 03:05 PM
estxgran estxgran is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: State of Bliss Republic of Texas USA
Posts: 476
Wish I had come back here first...

Sonny...I was following an instruction from a WorldStart message board earlier today regarding this same subject...I foolishly did exactly what the instructions said, which was to go to my Start, type in MSCONFIG, which opened my startup programs, shut down everything but my antivirus, restart the computer, type in MSCONFIG again...
Nothing opened on the computer when it powered back up.
I know now how STUPID that was, but if anyone can help I believe it will be you...so, help???😱😬😨😍 TIA.
__________________
MSWin Vista Home Premium - 6.0.6002 SP Bld 6002
Gateway T5062 - S86-based PC
AMD Athlon 64 Processor 3800+, 2400 Mhz, 1 Core(s)
1.00 GB Installed - Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
CCleaner
Malwarebytes Anti-Virus
Avast antivirus
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2011 WorldStart, Inc