#1  
Old 05-08-2014, 04:35 AM
JH45gun JH45gun is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 10
Note Netflix does not work with Linux

Does not affect me since I have a Roku box but something to consider if you go strictly Linux on your machine and get rid of Windows completely.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2014, 09:56 AM
tman80 tman80 is offline
Major Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Middle Tn.
Posts: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by JH45gun View Post
Does not affect me since I have a Roku box but something to consider if you go strictly Linux on your machine and get rid of Windows completely.
Netflik works fine on my Ubuntu 12.04 & 14.04 & Mint 15. Also on my Compaq Presario SR1012NX test computer.

http://www.howtogeek.com/130372/how-...x-desktop-app/

sudo apt-add-repository ppa:ehoover/compholio

sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get install netflix-desktop
__________________
Dell Optiplex 960,Intel Core 2 Duo, 3.16 GHz, Dual Boot W7sp1 & Ubuntu 14.04LTS, 250 Gig HD, 4GigRam, Bitdefender, Malwarebytes, Spywareblaster, Ccleaner, Pale Moon 25.7.0, Firefox 40.0, Comcast Internet
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2014, 05:07 PM
JH45gun JH45gun is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 10
That might be fine for you computer types but the terminal stuff had me totally confused on how to use it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2014, 06:41 PM
Wrong #'s Avatar
Wrong # Wrong # is offline
Member being informed
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by JH45gun View Post
That might be fine for you computer types but the terminal stuff had me totally confused on how to use it.
Take a lesson on how Ubuntu works...

http://longfiles.com/5rmh09xg5e5v/B0...Ubunt.pdf.html
__________________
In Memory of.
http://photobucket.com/Wrong-Number
http://smg.photobucket.com/user/Wron.../Moon.mp4.html
Passwords are WorldStart
Intel® Core i3 2120 3.3 GHz, W10 Pro. 64 Bit, 16GB RAM, 500 GB HDD, 1T internal HDD, 3T external HDD, Fire Fox v.50.0.06152
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2014, 07:10 PM
tman80 tman80 is offline
Major Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Middle Tn.
Posts: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by JH45gun View Post
That might be fine for you computer types but the terminal stuff had me totally confused on how to use it.
There is nothing to be confused about the terminal. It's just another learning curve. I am using Mate as my desktop so I will assume you are using the Dash configuration. Therefore the way I do things might not be your way. When I am going to use Terminal like this I copy the sudo commands to the text editor and save it to my desktop.
Just open Dash and type Text and click on it. Then paste the commands and save it to your desktop. You can then move it anywhere on the desktop out of your way. Then go to text and highlight first sudo command and copy.
Then open terminal by using Ctrl + Alt + T and paste and hit enter. You will be asked for your password. Type it, but realize nothing will show, and hit enter. When it finishes do the same for second command. Then the third command. You will then open Netflix and let it install wine apps in order to run.
You do have Wine installed? What version of Linux are you using?
__________________
Dell Optiplex 960,Intel Core 2 Duo, 3.16 GHz, Dual Boot W7sp1 & Ubuntu 14.04LTS, 250 Gig HD, 4GigRam, Bitdefender, Malwarebytes, Spywareblaster, Ccleaner, Pale Moon 25.7.0, Firefox 40.0, Comcast Internet
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2011 WorldStart, Inc