Go Back   WorldStart Tech & Computer Help Forums > PC Ask and Answer Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2017, 03:03 AM
Daisy64 Daisy64 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 222
Question Chrome Bookmarks not syncing with Android tablets & phone

Chrome Bookmarks not syncing.
I have a lot more Bookmarks on my phone & android tablets.
Got them all set up to sync to chrome on my PC. But some do some don't.
What am I doing wrong?
Signed out of Chrome on everything but no change when I sign in again and click sync.
Thought about deleting them on the pc and starting again, but unable to save them as I always do on Internet Explorer.
Got saved ones from years ago in another folder with that.

When I signed out of Chrome on my pc (to try and encourage the sync) I get this box coming up to say I am signed in.
But cannot enlarge it to see what's at the bottom. So as soon as I close the webpage I am not signed in.
So on top of my bookmark not syncing I cannot now sign into Chrome on my pc
Attached Images
File Type: jpg chrome.JPG (30.2 KB, 65 views)
__________________
Windows 10 - just learning
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2017, 04:52 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 40,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daisy64 View Post
Chrome Bookmarks not syncing.
I have a lot more Bookmarks on my phone & android tablets.
Got them all set up to sync to chrome on my PC. But some do some don't.
What am I doing wrong?
Signed out of Chrome on everything but no change when I sign in again and click sync.
Thought about deleting them on the pc and starting again, but unable to save them as I always do on Internet Explorer.
Got saved ones from years ago in another folder with that.

When I signed out of Chrome on my pc (to try and encourage the sync) I get this box coming up to say I am signed in.
But cannot enlarge it to see what's at the bottom. So as soon as I close the webpage I am not signed in.
So on top of my bookmark not syncing I cannot now sign into Chrome on my pc
On your phone and tablet open Chrome and go to settings, select your account and make sure sync is on. If it is turn it off. Then restart the device. When the device has been restarted sign in again and then try to sync again.

Also try suggestions here.
https://support.google.com/chrome/an...DAndroid&hl=en
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2017, 05:24 AM
Daisy64 Daisy64 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 222
Question

Thanks Sunny. Done that. It syncs my bookmarks between my phone & tablets But no change on my computer.
Before it only synced half the Bookmarks from my phone to pc.

But now if I sign into chrome on my pc I get that box come up as I showed.
It says signed in.
But the box just freezes and the only way I can get rid of it is to close the webpage
Then on opening it I have to try and sign in again
But the box comes up yet again. I have no bookmarks there at all now

I have even uninstalled and re installed chrome. But the box that appears shows up again and will not go
__________________
Windows 10 - just learning
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2017, 06:39 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 40,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daisy64 View Post
Thanks Sunny. Done that. It syncs my bookmarks between my phone & tablets But no change on my computer.
Before it only synced half the Bookmarks from my phone to pc.

But now if I sign into chrome on my pc I get that box come up as I showed.
It says signed in.
But the box just freezes and the only way I can get rid of it is to close the webpage
Then on opening it I have to try and sign in again
But the box comes up yet again. I have no bookmarks there at all now

I have even uninstalled and re installed chrome. But the box that appears shows up again and will not go
Hi Daisy, do you have any other software installed that syncs?
When you uninstalled Chrome did you completely uninstall and then reboot before reinstalling?
Follow the steps here to completely uninstall, reboot and download again.
http://www.wintips.org/how-to-comple...google-chrome/
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2017, 10:09 AM
Daisy64 Daisy64 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 222
Thanks. I dont have any other software that syncs.
Tried uninstall re install of chrome again as you said but not change.
Unable to back up my bookmarks on pc as it is not showing any.
As i am unable to get rid of this box that shows up when i go to settings sign in.
Cannot do anything in chrome.
The bookmarks not syncing all seems a minor problem now.
__________________
Windows 10 - just learning
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2017, 01:15 PM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 40,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daisy64 View Post
Thanks. I dont have any other software that syncs.
Tried uninstall re install of chrome again as you said but not change.
Unable to back up my bookmarks on pc as it is not showing any.
As i am unable to get rid of this box that shows up when i go to settings sign in.
Cannot do anything in chrome.
The bookmarks not syncing all seems a minor problem now.
When you say go to settings, sign in how far do you get? Are you able to enter your username and password?
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2017, 12:23 AM
Daisy64 Daisy64 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny View Post
When you say go to settings, sign in how far do you get? Are you able to enter your username and password?
Yes and it says signed in. But then this box comes up and it just freezes.
Not sure if theres something further down in it I should click to say ok?
As can't scroll down it.
But no bookmarks are showing in the background then.

So i have to close the page to get out of it.
Then when i open a new page i am not signed in!
All my bookmarks are still on my phone & tablet though. Dont want to lose them.
__________________
Windows 10 - just learning
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-15-2017, 02:21 AM
Daisy64 Daisy64 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 222
The Attachment here is the box that comes up and I am unable to stretch it scroll down it or do anything with it.
So have to open another window and there I am not signed in.
Cannot save my Bookmarks as they are not there.
So cannot do anything in Chrome.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.JPG (53.0 KB, 26 views)
__________________
Windows 10 - just learning
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-15-2017, 03:10 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 40,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daisy64 View Post
The Attachment here is the box that comes up and I am unable to stretch it scroll down it or do anything with it.
So have to open another window and there I am not signed in.
Cannot save my Bookmarks as they are not there.
So cannot do anything in Chrome.
Have you tried using your arrow keys? What is your screen resolution set at?
Try clearing your browser cache and resetting your home page to something else. Close Chrome and try again.
Also make sure Chrome is not set to clear your settings when the browser is closed. And make sure Chrome is not set to use incognito mode.
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog

Last edited by Sunny; 02-15-2017 at 03:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-15-2017, 06:01 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 40,117
Daisy, it must be your screen resolution or view settings that make it so you cannot see the entire dialog box. Try this. When you see that dialog press tab twice and then press enter. At the bottom of that dialog box there are two buttons, one says "Ok, got it" the other says "undo"
If you cannot see those buttons pressing tab twice should move your cursor to the Ok, got it button and pressing enter will select that button. The dialog window should close.
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-16-2017, 03:29 AM
Daisy64 Daisy64 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 222
Question

Thanks Sunny. But that didn't work. Hadn't altered the resolution.
So started again, uninstalled Chrome deleted the folders suggested in the webpage and re installed Chrome for the third time lol
Miracle of miracles the box wasn't frozen this time and I was able to sign in and also now to see the whole box and click OK.
All my bookmarks imported in also
But now my problem is I seem to have no menu button (the 3 dots) so cannot access settings.
I downloaded Chrome from here ...
https://www.google.com/chrome/browser/desktop/

Found it lol
https://productforums.google.com/forum/#!topic/chrome/s0vcpN7D_lA;context-place=topicsearchin/chrome/category$3Awindows7%7Csort:relevance%7Cspell:false

Why would they change it?
Seems like lots of people lost it and some have a green one


Thanks for all the help.
Now I must back up my bookmarks.
__________________
Windows 10 - just learning
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-16-2017, 04:04 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 40,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daisy64 View Post
Thanks Sunny. But that didn't work. Hadn't altered the resolution.
So started again, uninstalled Chrome deleted the folders suggested in the webpage and re installed Chrome for the third time lol
Miracle of miracles the box wasn't frozen this time and I was able to sign in and also now to see the whole box and click OK.
All my bookmarks imported in also
But now my problem is I seem to have no menu button (the 3 dots) so cannot access settings.
I downloaded Chrome from here ...
https://www.google.com/chrome/browser/desktop/

Found it lol
https://productforums.google.com/forum/#!topic/chrome/s0vcpN7D_lA;context-place=topicsearchin/chrome/category$3Awindows7%7Csort:relevance%7Cspell:false

Why would they change it?
Seems like lots of people lost it and some have a green one


Thanks for all the help.
Now I must back up my bookmarks.
Hi Daisy, you're welcome. If you did not uninstall completely the first time that is why the problem continued. Did you use the steps I posted? Uninstalling Chrome through the programs menu does not completely remove it.

Can you post a screen shot of what you see on the toolbar and are you sure you took the steps to completely remove Chrome including your profile and all left over folders. It sounds like you have a corrupt profile, a problem add-on or some other issue with the version you were running previously.
Also make sure you are not in full screen view. Open Google Chrome and then press the F11 key on your keyboard. Toggling that key will switch between normal and full screen view. If you are in full screen view you would not see the menu icon.
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog

Last edited by Sunny; 02-16-2017 at 06:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-16-2017, 07:21 AM
Daisy64 Daisy64 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 222
Yes followed your instructions but think the first couple of times I forgot to delete the folders.
But touch wood it is ok now.
Finally found the menu button. Thought it was something else
Don't understand why they change things.
Don't like chrome, only use it to sync my bookmarks to my phone and tablets.
Handy for that.
__________________
Windows 10 - just learning
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-16-2017, 08:50 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 40,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daisy64 View Post
Yes followed your instructions but think the first couple of times I forgot to delete the folders.
But touch wood it is ok now.
Finally found the menu button. Thought it was something else
Don't understand why they change things.
Don't like chrome, only use it to sync my bookmarks to my phone and tablets.
Handy for that.
Hi Daisy, yes if you do not completely remove Google Chrome settings are retained.
I don't like Chrome either. I use Firefox on my computer, phone and tablet and sync my bookmarks, tabs, history and other data.
You can read more here.
https://support.mozilla.org/t5/Firef...oid/ta-p/36456
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-17-2017, 02:49 AM
Daisy64 Daisy64 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 222
Never tried Firefox Sunny.
Always had a google account on my tablets and phone.
Thought it seemed easier with syncing to my computer.
How exactly does it work if you only have a Firefox account?
__________________
Windows 10 - just learning
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-17-2017, 03:06 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 40,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daisy64 View Post
Never tried Firefox Sunny.
Always had a google account on my tablets and phone.
Thought it seemed easier with syncing to my computer.
How exactly does it work if you only have a Firefox account?
Use the link I posted. It gives you the instructions. I use a Google account as well but you can use any browser with a Google account. Install Firefox on your computer and create a Firefox account.
Once you create a Firefox account you download the app on your phone and tablet and sign in on both devices. You want to get the app directly from the Google Play app store.

https://support.mozilla.org/t5/Firef...oid/ta-p/36456
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog

Last edited by Sunny; 02-17-2017 at 03:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-18-2017, 06:51 AM
Daisy64 Daisy64 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny View Post
Use the link I posted. It gives you the instructions. I use a Google account as well but you can use any browser with a Google account. Install Firefox on your computer and create a Firefox account.
Once you create a Firefox account you download the app on your phone and tablet and sign in on both devices. You want to get the app directly from the Google Play app store.

https://support.mozilla.org/t5/Firef...oid/ta-p/36456
Ok will look Thanks for all the help
Don't suppose its possible to get rid of the website boxes on my google homepage? I did a long while ago but cant find the link now.
__________________
Windows 10 - just learning
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-18-2017, 12:10 PM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 40,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daisy64 View Post
Ok will look Thanks for all the help
Don't suppose its possible to get rid of the website boxes on my google homepage? I did a long while ago but cant find the link now.
You're welcome Daisy. When you say wheb site boxes what do you mean? Can you post a screen shot?
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-18-2017, 12:51 PM
budgallxp budgallxp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 215
If your website boxes are what I think they are, hover your mouse over the box, you should see an X in the upper right hand corner, click on the X and box should go away
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-20-2017, 02:09 AM
Daisy64 Daisy64 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny View Post
You're welcome Daisy. When you say wheb site boxes what do you mean? Can you post a screen shot?
The websites that I have last visited.
Also getting news sites displayed Not signed up to anything new!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg boxes.JPG (63.5 KB, 22 views)
__________________
Windows 10 - just learning
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2011 WorldStart, Inc