#1  
Old 03-08-2017, 02:18 PM
BigBarney's Avatar
BigBarney BigBarney is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 5,922
Disappearing icons

For a short time now I have been having an annoying problem.
Almost every time I open a picture or use any app which involves graphics, when I close the picture or the app, all my desktop icons disappear for several seconds leaving just my background picture.
After the several seconds, all my icons reappear again until the next time I open a pic or graphics app.
It might be a coincidence but maybe around the same time this started, when I try to run a Complete Scan using SuperAntispyware, this never completes but shows an error message saying that the scan could not complete. A Quick Scan however completes ok and finds nothing apart from some tracking cookies.
A Malwarebytes Scan finds nothing either.
I have tried searching for any driver updates for my graphics card (INTEL(R) HD Graphics4600) online but I am told that the driver is the most up to date.
I opened up the tower and cleaned out all the dust etc which had accumulated on the CPU cooling fan etc with no improvement.
__________________
HP Pavilion 500-120ea, intel core i5-4440 CPU 3.10GHz,
12GB RAM, 1TB HD,
Windows 10(64 bit),
Firefox 52.0.2, Norton Security Deluxe 22.9.1.12


GLASGOW,
SCOTLAND
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2017, 02:25 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 35,826
For the SAS question try disabling the "scan inside Zip archives" option on the complete scan and see if it completes. To be honest though, a complete scan is rarely necessary because the Quick Scan scans the most common places spyware/adware is installed.
__________________

1.Dell Inspiron 17 5759
Windows 10 64bit
Firefox v.53.0 ;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Laptop Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2017, 02:32 PM
BigBarney's Avatar
BigBarney BigBarney is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 5,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by jholland1964 View Post
For the SAS question try disabling the "scan inside Zip archives" option on the complete scan and see if it completes. To be honest though, a complete scan is rarely necessary because the Quick Scan scans the most common places spyware/adware is installed.
Hi Judy
Thanks for the quick response.
That option in SAS is already disabled.
__________________
HP Pavilion 500-120ea, intel core i5-4440 CPU 3.10GHz,
12GB RAM, 1TB HD,
Windows 10(64 bit),
Firefox 52.0.2, Norton Security Deluxe 22.9.1.12


GLASGOW,
SCOTLAND
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2017, 02:38 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 35,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBarney View Post
Hi Judy
Thanks for the quick response.
That option in SAS is already disabled.
Did you read the rest of my reply? That information is directly from SAS.

Quote:
a complete scan is rarely necessary because the Quick Scan scans the most common places spyware/adware is installed.
Why do you feel it is necessary to run the complete scan? That is most often only recommended when you feel that there is an infection that cannot or hasn't been found by other scanners. I have always looked at SAS as an addition to CCleaner since it does not necessarily clean tracking cookies, SAS does.

F.Y.I. SAS is rarely one of the programs recommended in cleaning specific infections.
__________________

1.Dell Inspiron 17 5759
Windows 10 64bit
Firefox v.53.0 ;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Laptop Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2017, 02:56 PM
BigBarney's Avatar
BigBarney BigBarney is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 5,922
No real need I agree..............just thought it was a coincidence that I have used the Complete Scan before but stopped working round about when the icons problem materialised.
__________________
HP Pavilion 500-120ea, intel core i5-4440 CPU 3.10GHz,
12GB RAM, 1TB HD,
Windows 10(64 bit),
Firefox 52.0.2, Norton Security Deluxe 22.9.1.12


GLASGOW,
SCOTLAND
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-08-2017, 03:03 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 35,826
As far as very brief disappearing/reappearing desktop icons this usually is caused by a brief lag of resources. Maybe the closing of the graphics causes that because there are a lot different types of files used to display graphics and all of those have to be closed out also. They usually have to be closed in order so lots of resources could be used at that time.
__________________

1.Dell Inspiron 17 5759
Windows 10 64bit
Firefox v.53.0 ;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Laptop Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-2017, 12:14 AM
Everton's Avatar
Everton Everton is offline
Epic Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,345
You might try increasing the size of your paging file https://www.winhelp.us/set-paging-fi...n-windows.html
__________________


HP Pavilion TouchSmart 23-F203A All In One, 8GB RAM,1TB HD
Acer Aspire 5750G,4GB RAM, 698GB HD
Windows 10 Home

MAXTHON, Edge, Chrome, Firefox
Thunderbird
Avast! Free
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-09-2017, 10:59 AM
BigBarney's Avatar
BigBarney BigBarney is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 5,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Everton View Post
You might try increasing the size of your paging file https://www.winhelp.us/set-paging-fi...n-windows.html
I tried that after your suggestion and no difference I'm afraid.
__________________
HP Pavilion 500-120ea, intel core i5-4440 CPU 3.10GHz,
12GB RAM, 1TB HD,
Windows 10(64 bit),
Firefox 52.0.2, Norton Security Deluxe 22.9.1.12


GLASGOW,
SCOTLAND
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-09-2017, 12:05 PM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 40,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBarney View Post
I tried that after your suggestion and no difference I'm afraid.
Hi Barney, have you tried running a disk cleanup? Deleting your temp files and other junk files? If not you might try that and also try clearing the icon cache. See more here.
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/rebuil...che-windows-10

You might also take a look at the programs you have installed. Uninstall any you do not need or use and limit your startup programs to only what is necessary.
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-09-2017, 12:09 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 35,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBarney View Post
I have tried searching for any driver updates for my graphics card (INTEL(R) HD Graphics4600) online but I am told that the driver is the most up to date.
Is this the page where you looked for the driver?

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/pro...-Graphics-4600

Have you tried removing the driver you currently have, rebooting and allowing it to reinstall on reboot? That is certainly an option to try. The one you have may have become corrupted.

Also, do you have a lot of Icons? Remember Icons are graphics themselves, it may be that one of the graphics files that control Icons is causing the desktop to need to refresh.

I've also found several posts that Icon size and arrangement can make a difference also. Right click your desktop, choose View and then see if yours are the same as the Attachment. This has been the most recommended one on the links I have found.

Also, you can also when doing anything that has begun causing this behavior open that program/app/picture...whatever and then right click your desktop and again click View. If there is NO check mark next to Show Desktop Icons this means that whatever program or app you are using is turning that off. You will then have to investigate what that or those turn them off and the solution would likely be a setting within that or those programs.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Desktop Icons.jpg (28.8 KB, 32 views)
__________________

1.Dell Inspiron 17 5759
Windows 10 64bit
Firefox v.53.0 ;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Laptop Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-09-2017, 01:29 PM
BigBarney's Avatar
BigBarney BigBarney is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 5,922
[quote=jholland1964;1825101]Is this the page where you looked for the driver?

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/pro...-Graphics-4600

I followed that link and got this error message when trying to install.(see attachment)

I'm off to the island of Mull for the weekend. http://www.isle-of-mull.net/

Staying here http://www.booking.com/hotel/gb/isle...tml?aid=348969

I'll try some more suggestions next week.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Ashampoo_Snap_2017.03.09_19h25m54s_001_.jpg (24.0 KB, 31 views)
__________________
HP Pavilion 500-120ea, intel core i5-4440 CPU 3.10GHz,
12GB RAM, 1TB HD,
Windows 10(64 bit),
Firefox 52.0.2, Norton Security Deluxe 22.9.1.12


GLASGOW,
SCOTLAND
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-09-2017, 01:41 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 35,826
Which driver did your choose? The most recent one for Windows 10 64bit is dated 8/12/2016 and is driver 15.40.28.4501

What an amazing place to visit and WOW, what a hotel!!!
__________________

1.Dell Inspiron 17 5759
Windows 10 64bit
Firefox v.53.0 ;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Laptop Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-09-2017, 01:54 PM
BigBarney's Avatar
BigBarney BigBarney is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 5,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by jholland1964 View Post
Which driver did your choose? The most recent one for Windows 10 64bit is dated 8/12/2016 and is driver 15.40.28.4501

What an amazing place to visit and WOW, what a hotel!!!
That is the driver I tried to install.

There are 100 of us taking over the hotel for three nights and we are including a day trip to Iona. http://www.welcometoiona.com/
__________________
HP Pavilion 500-120ea, intel core i5-4440 CPU 3.10GHz,
12GB RAM, 1TB HD,
Windows 10(64 bit),
Firefox 52.0.2, Norton Security Deluxe 22.9.1.12


GLASGOW,
SCOTLAND
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-09-2017, 02:10 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 35,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBarney View Post
That is the driver I tried to install.

There are 100 of us taking over the hotel for three nights and we are including a day trip to Iona. http://www.welcometoiona.com/
Is that the driver that is already installed on the computer? If not which one is installed?

Did you try manually uninstalling the current driver, shut down, reboot and letting the computer find and reinstall the one originally on there?

That Iona Isle is just gorgeous. Sounds like a super weekend.
__________________

1.Dell Inspiron 17 5759
Windows 10 64bit
Firefox v.53.0 ;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Laptop Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-09-2017, 03:10 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 35,826
Another suggestion;

Have you gone through all of the steps here?

http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/...000005481.html
__________________

1.Dell Inspiron 17 5759
Windows 10 64bit
Firefox v.53.0 ;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Laptop Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-11-2017, 09:57 AM
BigBarney's Avatar
BigBarney BigBarney is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 5,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by jholland1964 View Post
Another suggestion;

Have you gone through all of the steps here?

http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/...000005481.html
Just got around to doing this and got the response shown in my attachment.

I checked on the HP site and there are no updates available.

Incidentally, the problem now happens when I open a document using Open Office.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Ashampoo_Snap_2017.04.11_15h54m12s_001_.jpg (93.1 KB, 26 views)
__________________
HP Pavilion 500-120ea, intel core i5-4440 CPU 3.10GHz,
12GB RAM, 1TB HD,
Windows 10(64 bit),
Firefox 52.0.2, Norton Security Deluxe 22.9.1.12


GLASGOW,
SCOTLAND
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-11-2017, 10:28 AM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 35,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBarney View Post
Just got around to doing this and got the response shown in my attachment.

I checked on the HP site and there are no updates available.

Incidentally, the problem now happens when I open a document using Open Office.
Think you need to actually contact HP for assistance with this. Pretty much every suggestion available online has already been given to you. Since this message you just received states the drivers may have been customized by HP then you need to actually Speak with them to find out. I believe HP has an online chat available and you do get to chat with a live person. I think it is time for you to talk to them.

EDIT: Do you have a lot of icons on the desktop? This can happen if there are too many. This suggestion says Windows 7, it also applies to Windows 10
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...dows-7-desktop

It can also happen if your Icon Cache has become corrupt.

http://www.intowindows.com/how-to-re...in-windows-10/
__________________

1.Dell Inspiron 17 5759
Windows 10 64bit
Firefox v.53.0 ;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Laptop Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up

Last edited by jholland1964; 04-11-2017 at 10:37 AM. Reason: a couple more suggestions
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-11-2017, 10:45 AM
BigBarney's Avatar
BigBarney BigBarney is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 5,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by jholland1964 View Post
Think you need to actually contact HP for assistance with this. Pretty much every suggestion available online has already been given to you. Since this message you just received states the drivers may have been customized by HP then you need to actually Speak with them to find out. I believe HP has an online chat available and you do get to chat with a live person. I think it is time for you to talk to them.

EDIT: Do you have a lot of icons on the desktop? This can happen if there are too many. This suggestion says Windows 7, it also applies to Windows 10
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...dows-7-desktop

It can also happen if your Icon Cache has become corrupt.

http://www.intowindows.com/how-to-re...in-windows-10/
I do have a lot of probably unnecessary icons on my desktop.
I will try and remove a lot of them and see if the problem goes away.
I ran a graphics check and the results are shown in my attachment.
If I try uninstalling the driver and then rebooting, do I do this in device manager by right clicking and choosing uninstall (second attachment)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Ashampoo_Snap_2017.04.11_16h39m28s_002_.jpg (97.8 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg Ashampoo_Snap_2017.04.11_16h44m27s_003_.jpg (56.7 KB, 26 views)
__________________
HP Pavilion 500-120ea, intel core i5-4440 CPU 3.10GHz,
12GB RAM, 1TB HD,
Windows 10(64 bit),
Firefox 52.0.2, Norton Security Deluxe 22.9.1.12


GLASGOW,
SCOTLAND
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-11-2017, 11:40 AM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 35,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBarney View Post
I do have a lot of probably unnecessary icons on my desktop.
I will try and remove a lot of them and see if the problem goes away.
I ran a graphics check and the results are shown in my attachment.
If I try uninstalling the driver and then rebooting, do I do this in device manager by right clicking and choosing uninstall (second attachment)
Do check first, before doing anything else, the possibility you have too many icons. Remember each one of those IS using up graphic resources. It would make sense if you have too many icons that when using a program that requires lots of graphics or editing/viewing photos in order to do the tasks items that are not really needed at the time, the icons, would "turn off" so that whatever you are doing can be accomplished correctly.

How many icons do you have on the desktop?

How are they arranged? Randomly place icons can also cause stress on the graphics.

I have never seen, nor run a graphics check so I cannot respond to the findings or what should be found.

Yes, to remove and reinstall you are correct. Once the computer is rebooted it should search for and find and reinstall the driver.
__________________

1.Dell Inspiron 17 5759
Windows 10 64bit
Firefox v.53.0 ;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Laptop Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-11-2017, 12:07 PM
BigBarney's Avatar
BigBarney BigBarney is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 5,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by jholland1964 View Post
Do check first, before doing anything else, the possibility you have too many icons. Remember each one of those IS using up graphic resources. It would make sense if you have too many icons that when using a program that requires lots of graphics or editing/viewing photos in order to do the tasks items that are not really needed at the time, the icons, would "turn off" so that whatever you are doing can be accomplished correctly.

How many icons do you have on the desktop?

How are they arranged? Randomly place icons can also cause stress on the graphics.

I have never seen, nor run a graphics check so I cannot respond to the findings or what should be found.

Yes, to remove and reinstall you are correct. Once the computer is rebooted it should search for and find and reinstall the driver.
I have approx 110 icons (too many!) on my desktop but I always have had.
If I switch to tablet mode, there are only about 10 icons on the desktop but the same problem occurs.

EDIT: Uninstalling and reinstalling the graphics did not help.
__________________
HP Pavilion 500-120ea, intel core i5-4440 CPU 3.10GHz,
12GB RAM, 1TB HD,
Windows 10(64 bit),
Firefox 52.0.2, Norton Security Deluxe 22.9.1.12


GLASGOW,
SCOTLAND

Last edited by BigBarney; 04-11-2017 at 12:23 PM. Reason: More information
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2011 WorldStart, Inc