#1  
Old 03-11-2017, 07:20 PM
Jorja's Avatar
Jorja Jorja is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 494
What the #$%@ is ...

the MASSIVELY annoying little button on the right side of my screen by the scroll bar? It's blue, shows a (changing) percentage amount and has a search option. If I hover over the percentage thingie it changes into an airplane.

HOW DO I KILL THIS THING?!!
__________________
Jorja

Gittin' old ain't fer sissies.

AMD FX(tm)-4100 Quad-Core Processor 3.60 GHz
4.00 GB RAM
64-bit
Windows 10
Firefox, DSL connection
Adblock Plus
SuperAntiSpyware free
Malwarebytes free
SpywareBlaster free
Windows Firewall
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2017, 08:37 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 35,602
Possibly malware. Have never heard of anything like this.
How long has this been happening? Installed any new software? Added any new hardware?

Can you post a printscreen?
__________________

1.Dell Inspiron 17 5759
Windows 10 64bit
Firefox v.52.0 ;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Laptop Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2017, 09:21 PM
Jorja's Avatar
Jorja Jorja is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 494
This dopey thing on the right.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Stoopit button.jpg (100.9 KB, 85 views)
__________________
Jorja

Gittin' old ain't fer sissies.

AMD FX(tm)-4100 Quad-Core Processor 3.60 GHz
4.00 GB RAM
64-bit
Windows 10
Firefox, DSL connection
Adblock Plus
SuperAntiSpyware free
Malwarebytes free
SpywareBlaster free
Windows Firewall
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2017, 09:40 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 35,602
Does this appear with every browser or just Firefox?
__________________

1.Dell Inspiron 17 5759
Windows 10 64bit
Firefox v.52.0 ;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Laptop Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-11-2017, 09:59 PM
Jorja's Avatar
Jorja Jorja is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 494
Good question, let me go check.
__________________
Jorja

Gittin' old ain't fer sissies.

AMD FX(tm)-4100 Quad-Core Processor 3.60 GHz
4.00 GB RAM
64-bit
Windows 10
Firefox, DSL connection
Adblock Plus
SuperAntiSpyware free
Malwarebytes free
SpywareBlaster free
Windows Firewall
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-11-2017, 10:07 PM
Jorja's Avatar
Jorja Jorja is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 494
Yup, it's also there with both Chrome and Edge and then still on the desktop when I closed the browsers. Did a restart and it's gone from my desktop but still there when I open Firefox.

Must be some Windows 10 rubbish.
__________________
Jorja

Gittin' old ain't fer sissies.

AMD FX(tm)-4100 Quad-Core Processor 3.60 GHz
4.00 GB RAM
64-bit
Windows 10
Firefox, DSL connection
Adblock Plus
SuperAntiSpyware free
Malwarebytes free
SpywareBlaster free
Windows Firewall
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-11-2017, 10:09 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 35,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jorja View Post
Yup, it's also there with both Chrome and Edge and then still on the desktop when I closed the browsers. Did a restart and it's gone from my desktop but still there when I open Firefox.

Must be some Windows 10 rubbish.
I have Windows 10 and have never seen anything like that and I have had it for a year.
When did this begin?
Have you run any scans, especially CCleaner, SUPERAntispyware, Malwarebytes' ?
__________________

1.Dell Inspiron 17 5759
Windows 10 64bit
Firefox v.52.0 ;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Laptop Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-11-2017, 10:18 PM
Jorja's Avatar
Jorja Jorja is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 494
I think it started with one of the updates, but not sure. Unless I accidentally hit it when using the scroll bar it's just a little blue bar-on-the-bar kinda deal and I forget about it. But if the cursor hits it I get the expanded version shown in my screen shot.

I'll run a bunch of scans & see what happens & let you know, 'K? Thanks a ton for the replies! Later.
__________________
Jorja

Gittin' old ain't fer sissies.

AMD FX(tm)-4100 Quad-Core Processor 3.60 GHz
4.00 GB RAM
64-bit
Windows 10
Firefox, DSL connection
Adblock Plus
SuperAntiSpyware free
Malwarebytes free
SpywareBlaster free
Windows Firewall
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-11-2017, 10:28 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 35,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jorja View Post
I think it started with one of the updates, but not sure. Unless I accidentally hit it when using the scroll bar it's just a little blue bar-on-the-bar kinda deal and I forget about it. But if the cursor hits it I get the expanded version shown in my screen shot.

I'll run a bunch of scans & see what happens & let you know, 'K? Thanks a ton for the replies! Later.
There have not been any Windows 10 updates since January and there were just a few, one for Edge, one for Office, one for Adobe Flash Player but that was all. None for the operating system alone.
__________________

1.Dell Inspiron 17 5759
Windows 10 64bit
Firefox v.52.0 ;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Laptop Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-11-2017, 11:00 PM
Paul_D's Avatar
Paul_D Paul_D is offline
Junior Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 17,860
Have you tried right-clicking it? You may get a dialog box that gives you some clues.

It looks to me like it may be associated with a search engine.
__________________

Paul D

Intel i5 @ 3.5GHz, 120gb SSD, 2xHDs (3GB total), 8GB RAM, Windows 8.1, 2x24" Samsung monitors
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-12-2017, 10:03 AM
Phil's Avatar
Phil Phil is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Old Californian using Windows 10 64bit, Firefox, Chrome, Comodo Ice Dragon, IE 11 & cable.
Posts: 8,820
Could the little G on a blue shield located on your taskbar have anything to do with it?
__________________





Click Here to view latest edition
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-12-2017, 10:22 AM
Paul_D's Avatar
Paul_D Paul_D is offline
Junior Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 17,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jorja View Post
Must be some Windows 10 rubbish.
That is one thing it is most definitely not.

What background programs do you have running?
__________________

Paul D

Intel i5 @ 3.5GHz, 120gb SSD, 2xHDs (3GB total), 8GB RAM, Windows 8.1, 2x24" Samsung monitors

Last edited by Paul_D; 03-12-2017 at 10:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-12-2017, 12:31 PM
billm65's Avatar
billm65 billm65 is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jorja View Post
This dopey thing on the right.
Looks like some kind of search engine you may have used or downloaded at one time. Have you clicked on it to see what comes up? You can look in your "tools" or "bookmarks" to see if there is a program you forgot about.
__________________
BILL
HP Envy
Windows 10
8GB RAm
1 TB HD
____________


There MUST be TERM LIMITS on ALL politicians.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-12-2017, 06:01 PM
oldngrey's Avatar
oldngrey oldngrey is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 160
I have it too.
It's part of Malware Hunter.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-12-2017, 06:37 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 35,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldngrey View Post
I have it too.
It's part of Malware Hunter.
Hope you aren't paying for it, it does not get very good reviews and does not do anything as well as Malwarebytes' + it costs $25 per year.

It is a rip off of another piece of software from another Chinese company. Yes, GlarySoft IS a Chinese company.

https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thre...rysoft.382526/
__________________

1.Dell Inspiron 17 5759
Windows 10 64bit
Firefox v.52.0 ;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Laptop Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-12-2017, 06:53 PM
Bazcaz's Avatar
Bazcaz Bazcaz is offline
Epic Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 2,140
What if RIGHT click the Icon,what comes up in the menu..Install location,Properties,Exit..etc etc?
__________________
Windows 10, 64 Bit, Intel Core 2.66GHz, Seagate Barracuda 500GB HD, Sony DVD,RW/Blue Ray,Firefox 52.0.0 CCleaner pro, ,Malwarebytes, Samsung 19" LCD Monitor.Windows defender
If you can`t do someone a GOOD turn don`t do a BAD one.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-12-2017, 06:57 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 35,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bazcaz View Post
What if RIGHT click the Icon,what comes up in the menu..Install location,Properties,Exit..etc etc?
Well DUH! Paul suggested the pretty much the same thing earlier in post #10

Something I should have asked for sure!!!
__________________

1.Dell Inspiron 17 5759
Windows 10 64bit
Firefox v.52.0 ;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Laptop Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-12-2017, 09:37 PM
Everton's Avatar
Everton Everton is offline
Epic Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by jholland1964 View Post
Hope you aren't paying for it, it does not get very good reviews and does not do anything as well as Malwarebytes' + it costs $25 per year.

It is a rip off of another piece of software from another Chinese company. Yes, GlarySoft IS a Chinese company.

https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thre...rysoft.382526/
There is a free version. http://www.glarysoft.com/malware-hunter/updatetopro

Looks like the 'airplane' mentioned by the OP as part of the icon would be the rocket that indicates the 'speed up' feature and the program must have been running for it to be visible at all.
__________________


HP Pavilion TouchSmart 23-F203A All In One, 8GB RAM,1TB HD
Acer Aspire 5750G,4GB RAM, 698GB HD
Windows 10 Home

MAXTHON, Edge, Chrome, Firefox
Thunderbird
Avast! Free
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-12-2017, 10:35 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 35,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by Everton View Post
There is a free version. http://www.glarysoft.com/malware-hunter/updatetopro

Looks like the 'airplane' mentioned by the OP as part of the icon would be the rocket that indicates the 'speed up' feature and the program must have been running for it to be visible at all.
Yes I did find there was a free version added in Sept.

I still wouldn't want it on my computer. Sorry, just don't trust the Chinese software of any kind. iObit, a Chinese company was found to be stealing databases from Malwarebytes' several years ago, Qihoo 360, another Chinese company, switched AV engine in copies submitted for testing by three labs, AV‐Comparatives, AV‐TEST and Virus Bulletin and all three have censured the company because they replaced the company's own antivirus engine with the one created by BitDefender. The program being discussed here, Glary's Malware Hunter used Avira's scan engine when it was first released two years ago.
Malware Hunter is a known junk program as are most other Glary's programs. Their reviews are rarely good, at most they are rated "so-so" or not to be trusted.

It could not install itself, it must manually be installed by the user.
__________________

1.Dell Inspiron 17 5759
Windows 10 64bit
Firefox v.52.0 ;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Laptop Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-12-2017, 10:57 PM
Everton's Avatar
Everton Everton is offline
Epic Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,298
I was not advocating the program. I would not want it either.

I know Aomei and EasUs are used and recommended by many but these are also Chinese based and I wonder if they should not be trusted either?
Kingsoft (WPS Office) ? Maxthon?
__________________


HP Pavilion TouchSmart 23-F203A All In One, 8GB RAM,1TB HD
Acer Aspire 5750G,4GB RAM, 698GB HD
Windows 10 Home

MAXTHON, Edge, Chrome, Firefox
Thunderbird
Avast! Free
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2011 WorldStart, Inc