#1  
Old 03-01-2007, 01:17 PM
Ghecko's Avatar
Ghecko Ghecko is offline
a lizard with style
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 733
Unhappy Black border around screen

I was thinking of changing my theme and was looking around in Display Properties. I didn't change my theme but must have done something because I now have a black border all the way around my screen. I have tried every setting imaginable in Display Properties and I can't get rid of the black border. Help appreciated....TIA

XP SP2 Home Edition
Screen resolution: 1024 X 768 Pixels
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2007, 02:06 PM
Phil's Avatar
Phil Phil is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Old Californian using Windows 7 64bit, Firefox, Chrome, Torch, IE 11 & cable.
Posts: 8,362
In Display Properties you may need to go to the Desktop tab and be sure you have selected "Stretch". See attachment.
__________________




Click Here to view latest edition
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2007, 02:14 PM
Ghecko's Avatar
Ghecko Ghecko is offline
a lizard with style
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 733
Thanks Phil....."stretch" is already selected. Any other ideas??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2007, 02:55 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 30,947
What kind of monitor do you have? Sounds like the actual Monitor settings have been changed.
__________________

1. Dell Inspiron N5040;
Windows 7 64bit SP1
Firefox v.33, IE11;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2007, 03:35 PM
Ghecko's Avatar
Ghecko Ghecko is offline
a lizard with style
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 733
Thanks Judy.....

It's a Philips (107 T) Monitor. All the setting adjustments are made with buttons on the front of the monitor.

I have not changed any of the monitor settings. As the black border appeared immediately after I was looking around in Display Properties this morning, I must have done something there to cause it; but, I have no idea what caused the border to appear or how to remove it.....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2007, 03:45 PM
Phil's Avatar
Phil Phil is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Old Californian using Windows 7 64bit, Firefox, Chrome, Torch, IE 11 & cable.
Posts: 8,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghecko
Thanks Judy.....


I have not changed any of the monitor settings. As the black border appeared immediately after I was looking around in Display Properties this morning, I must have done something there to cause it; but, I have no idea what caused the border to appear or how to remove it.....
In that case a System Restore should fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2007, 03:51 PM
Ghecko's Avatar
Ghecko Ghecko is offline
a lizard with style
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 733
Thanks Phil.... I thought of that and did do a System Restore, but I still have the black border...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2007, 04:17 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 30,947
Try the buttons on the front of the monitor...try to re-adjust the width and height
__________________

1. Dell Inspiron N5040;
Windows 7 64bit SP1
Firefox v.33, IE11;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-01-2007, 04:18 PM
Phil's Avatar
Phil Phil is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Old Californian using Windows 7 64bit, Firefox, Chrome, Torch, IE 11 & cable.
Posts: 8,362
Does the border appear just on your desktop or also on or around a maximized web page?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-01-2007, 04:42 PM
billm65's Avatar
billm65 billm65 is online now
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghecko
Thanks Judy.....

It's a Philips (107 T) Monitor. All the setting adjustments are made with buttons on the front of the monitor.

I have not changed any of the monitor settings. As the black border appeared immediately after I was looking around in Display Properties this morning, I must have done something there to cause it; but, I have no idea what caused the border to appear or how to remove it.....
Did you try to change the settings to get rid of the black border?
__________________
BILL
HP Envy
Windows 8.1
8GB RAm
1 TB HD
____________
Mankind will never see an end of trouble until... lovers of wisdom come to hold political power, or the holders of power... become lovers of wisdom. (Quote by - Plato)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-01-2007, 04:43 PM
Ghecko's Avatar
Ghecko Ghecko is offline
a lizard with style
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by jholland1964
Try the buttons on the front of the monitor...try to re-adjust the width and height

Thanks Judy.....I just re adjusted both the width and the height and it made no difference.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-01-2007, 04:50 PM
Ghecko's Avatar
Ghecko Ghecko is offline
a lizard with style
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil
Does the border appear just on your desktop or also on or around a maximized web page?
Phil....The border appears all the way around on the desktop. When I maximize a web page, the border is around the page, but is not on it. In other words, I can still see the whole page.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-01-2007, 04:51 PM
Ghecko's Avatar
Ghecko Ghecko is offline
a lizard with style
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by billm65
Did you try to change the settings to get rid of the black border?

Bill.....I just tried adjusting the height and width.......made no difference. Still have the black border.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-01-2007, 04:56 PM
Penny's Avatar
Penny Penny is offline
HI Y'ALL
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 7,661
Ghecko

I am following this thread with great interest as I have had a black border around my screen for several months, and have not been able to figure out how to get rid of it. I kind of just resigned myself to having to live with it..........hope someone comes up with an answer.......
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-01-2007, 05:06 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 30,947
Have you checked to be certain correct video or graphics card is listed AND that the correct driver is installed?
__________________

1. Dell Inspiron N5040;
Windows 7 64bit SP1
Firefox v.33, IE11;WLM2012; Avira Free, Windows Firewall, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SUPERAntispyware

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Windows 7 64bit SP1
*same programs as computer 1 above*


Help Us To Help You

System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-01-2007, 05:26 PM
Phil's Avatar
Phil Phil is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Old Californian using Windows 7 64bit, Firefox, Chrome, Torch, IE 11 & cable.
Posts: 8,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghecko
Phil....The border appears all the way around on the desktop. When I maximize a web page, the border is around the page, but is not on it. In other words, I can still see the whole page.
This makes me strongly suspect the problem is with the monitor. How about going to the monitor mfr's site and downloading a new driver? Then re-install your monitor driver.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-01-2007, 05:38 PM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 37,565
Try this. Click start > control panel > display. Click the settings tab and then the advanced button. Click the monitor tab. Try changing the refresh rate to optimal. Apply the settings and reboot. If you don't have optimal try a lower setting.
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-01-2007, 07:07 PM
Ghecko's Avatar
Ghecko Ghecko is offline
a lizard with style
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil
This makes me strongly suspect the problem is with the monitor. How about going to the monitor mfr's site and downloading a new driver? Then re-install your monitor driver.

Phil...I couldn't find a driver for my monitor at the Philips web site. My monitor is a Philips....model 107 T. Maybe my monitor is too old to have a driver available??
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-01-2007, 07:20 PM
Ghecko's Avatar
Ghecko Ghecko is offline
a lizard with style
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny
Try this. Click start > control panel > display. Click the settings tab and then the advanced button. Click the monitor tab. Try changing the refresh rate to optimal. Apply the settings and reboot. If you don't have optimal try a lower setting.
Thanks Sunny......tried several different refresh rates, and rebooted in between. Unfortunately, I still have the black border.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-01-2007, 07:29 PM
Ghecko's Avatar
Ghecko Ghecko is offline
a lizard with style
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by jholland1964
Have you checked to be certain correct video or graphics card is listed AND that the correct driver is installed?
Sorry Judy...I missed seeing your post...
My video and graphics card are correct. Not sure about the monitor driver.....am trying to see if I can find a new driver at the Philips web site. Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2011 WorldStart, Inc