#1  
Old 06-24-2007, 05:06 AM
yorkshire lass's Avatar
yorkshire lass yorkshire lass is offline
Using it or Losing it
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Yorkshire, England
Posts: 4,240
Question Problem uninstalling Arcsoft

Several years ago, when I got my first digital camera, it came with a bundle of Arcsoft editing programmes (Panorama Maker 31.55MB and Photoimpression 2.27MB). I haven't used these programmes for a year or so and want to uninstall them. When I try to do this on the control panel, I get the following error message.

An installation support file C:\Program files\Common Files\Install shield\engine\6\Intel32\ctor.dll could not be installed. Access is denied.

I did a Google desktop search and found that there were 504 Arcsoft files on my computer (windows XP SP 2, Broadband wireless connection, AVG anti-virus, Spyware and windows Firewall and Defender) but the programme does not appear on All Programs so I can't even use it if I wanted to!

Any help that you can give me would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2007, 05:33 AM
surferdude's Avatar
surferdude surferdude is offline
Learning everyday
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In God's Hands
Posts: 11,072
Did you try going into your add/remove area to remove from there? Hope this helps. Have a great summer & God Bless
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2007, 05:36 AM
Ed Hart Ed Hart is offline
Epic Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,531
yorkshire lass, SWAG, if you use Windows Explorer, can you find 'em? Is there an uninstaller in their folder? Perhaps you need to run it? Sometimes things get put in relatively obscure places upon installation and a false 'echo' shows up later showing something that ain't. An uninstaller gets rid of 'em all.
Maybe you need to download it again and then run the uninstaller? Kinda weird, but...
HTH.
Ed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-24-2007, 05:54 AM
Rosie's Avatar
Rosie Rosie is offline
Sr CRS Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tulsa OK
Posts: 1,032
All five of my ArcSoft programs are found in Programs with individual "uninstall" option. Ed's suggestion is right on target. I also have the option of uninstalling from the Control Panel\Add or Remove Programs by selecting ArcSoft PhotoImpression, etc.
__________________
Dell OptiPlex GX260, WinXP Pro SP3, IE8, Chrome, Avira, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, SAS, WOT
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-24-2007, 06:28 AM
yorkshire lass's Avatar
yorkshire lass yorkshire lass is offline
Using it or Losing it
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Yorkshire, England
Posts: 4,240
thank you for all your suggestions; I've tried all of them but still cannot uninstall Arcsoft. Unfortunately, I can't find the original installation disc , otherwise I would try to re-install it and then I might find them in Programme files. Going to Control Panel/ add & remove programs, just gives me the error message I posted!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-24-2007, 07:03 AM
oisin's Avatar
oisin oisin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tir Na nOg
Posts: 255
How about having a go in Safe Mode?
__________________
What if there were no hypothetical questions?

Apple Macbook/Yosemite/Firefox/Safari/BT BB

Dell Inspiron 1300/XP SP3/Firefox/PC Tools FW/Avast AV/Virgin Cable BB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2007, 08:59 AM
doldgeek's Avatar
doldgeek doldgeek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 2,554
Try going to 'Start' > Search > enter Arcsoft
And detete them from there
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-24-2007, 10:46 AM
MMFELL's Avatar
MMFELL MMFELL is offline
Retired Computer Techo
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sydney. Australia
Posts: 16,655
Its a problem with install shield. You will have to either re-install Arcsoft or manually remove by removing program etc from C:\Program Files

See http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=e...or.dll&spell=1
__________________
2.67 GHz Intel Core2 Quad 2GB RAM, 150GB + 500GB + 2TB SATA + 1TB Ext, DVD-RW, WinXP Pro (SP3), IE7, Avira, Outpost Firewall, Nero 7, Office XP. Cable. Pics of my Radar & Parrish now retired therapy dogs below.
Google is your friend


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-25-2007, 02:00 AM
yorkshire lass's Avatar
yorkshire lass yorkshire lass is offline
Using it or Losing it
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Yorkshire, England
Posts: 4,240
Red face Thank you everyone!

Thanks for all the new suggestions. I've now managed to get rid of the PanoramaMaker by deleting the files from the programme files, but the PhotoImpression remains!. However, I managed to get in touch with Arcsoft Support by e-mail and I'm now waiting for a reply. After all this hassle I'm in two minds whether to keep it now! Thank you all very much for going to so much trouble.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-25-2007, 03:57 PM
RomeoRob's Avatar
RomeoRob RomeoRob is offline
RomeoRob
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Scarborough ,Queensland , Australia
Posts: 5,304
Arrow A Good Program

Quote:
Originally Posted by yorkshire lass
Thanks for all the new suggestions. I've now managed to get rid of the PanoramaMaker by deleting the files from the programme files, but the PhotoImpression remains!. However, I managed to get in touch with Arcsoft Support by e-mail and I'm now waiting for a reply. After all this hassle I'm in two minds whether to keep it now! Thank you all very much for going to so much trouble.
Hello, there,

I find PhotoImpression a VERY GOOD PROGRAM and my advice, for what it is worth, is to KEEP IT, most of Arcsoft products are usually excellent , incidently, what version do you have ?
__________________
http://i205.photobucket.com/albums/b...2102SPECCY.jpg , Windows XP Pro with Avast , Windows 7 with Avast ( dual boot )
Superantispyware Pro, , Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware , Spyware Blaster, FIREFOX, OPERA, AntiVir Task Manager , Mamutu
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-26-2007, 03:03 AM
yorkshire lass's Avatar
yorkshire lass yorkshire lass is offline
Using it or Losing it
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Yorkshire, England
Posts: 4,240
Wink Hello RomeoRob

Quote:
Originally Posted by RomeoRob
Hello, there,

I find PhotoImpression a VERY GOOD PROGRAM and my advice, for what it is worth, is to KEEP IT, most of Arcsoft products are usually excellent , incidently, what version do you have ?
Unfortunately, I can't find the original installation CD that came with my first digital camera, it was bundled with quite a lot of Nikon products and being a real novice at the time, I didn't realise the importance of keeping everything, "JUST IN CASE!!" What I have left is part of version 4. It enables me to edit photos and either e-mail them or save them to disc. It doesn't appear in "All programmes" only as a shortcut on the desktop, so I just hope that I don't lose that as well!. Thanks for taking an interest.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-26-2007, 04:38 AM
RomeoRob's Avatar
RomeoRob RomeoRob is offline
RomeoRob
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Scarborough ,Queensland , Australia
Posts: 5,304
Arrow Program Files ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by yorkshire lass
Unfortunately, I can't find the original installation CD that came with my first digital camera, it was bundled with quite a lot of Nikon products and being a real novice at the time, I didn't realise the importance of keeping everything, "JUST IN CASE!!" What I have left is part of version 4. It enables me to edit photos and either e-mail them or save them to disc. It doesn't appear in "All programmes" only as a shortcut on the desktop, so I just hope that I don't lose that as well!. Thanks for taking an interest.
Hello, Again.Ms.

Perhaps if you were to look in PROGRAM FILES, under ARCSOFT , you MAY find the program , worth a peep ?
Best Regards ,

Jimmy
__________________
http://i205.photobucket.com/albums/b...2102SPECCY.jpg , Windows XP Pro with Avast , Windows 7 with Avast ( dual boot )
Superantispyware Pro, , Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware , Spyware Blaster, FIREFOX, OPERA, AntiVir Task Manager , Mamutu
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-26-2007, 11:07 AM
yorkshire lass's Avatar
yorkshire lass yorkshire lass is offline
Using it or Losing it
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Yorkshire, England
Posts: 4,240
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by RomeoRob
Hello, Again.Ms.

Perhaps if you were to look in PROGRAM FILES, under ARCSOFT , you MAY find the program , worth a peep ?
Best Regards ,

Jimmy
Hello again! I found both Arcsoft PhotoImpression and part of PanoramaMaker in PROGRAM FILES. So I've copied them both into My Documents as a reserve! I'm inclined to delete all the files for PanoramaMaker as I can't get into it at all; I think there must be some files missing . Do you think this would be wise move or would it affect the working of files in PhotoImpression? Sorry to be nuisance ; I really do appreciate all your help.
Regards, Dawn.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-26-2007, 11:17 AM
MMFELL's Avatar
MMFELL MMFELL is offline
Retired Computer Techo
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sydney. Australia
Posts: 16,655
I may be able to source a copy of the Arcsoft stuff as its bundled with a scanner we have at the club. No promises as the scanner is no longer with us but will try!
__________________
2.67 GHz Intel Core2 Quad 2GB RAM, 150GB + 500GB + 2TB SATA + 1TB Ext, DVD-RW, WinXP Pro (SP3), IE7, Avira, Outpost Firewall, Nero 7, Office XP. Cable. Pics of my Radar & Parrish now retired therapy dogs below.
Google is your friend


Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-26-2007, 12:19 PM
yorkshire lass's Avatar
yorkshire lass yorkshire lass is offline
Using it or Losing it
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Yorkshire, England
Posts: 4,240
Crikey!

Well, as they say here in Yorkshire "I'll go to the bottom of my stairs!" What an amazingly kind offer.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-26-2007, 03:29 PM
RomeoRob's Avatar
RomeoRob RomeoRob is offline
RomeoRob
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Scarborough ,Queensland , Australia
Posts: 5,304
Arrow Copying Program Files ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by yorkshire lass
Hello again! I found both Arcsoft PhotoImpression and part of PanoramaMaker in PROGRAM FILES. So I've copied them both into My Documents as a reserve! I'm inclined to delete all the files for PanoramaMaker as I can't get into it at all; I think there must be some files missing . Do you think this would be wise move or would it affect the working of files in PhotoImpression? Sorry to be nuisance ; I really do appreciate all your help.
Regards, Dawn.
Greetings, again, Dawn ,

Because I am far from being a computer expert , i am not too sure wether one can successfully ''COPY '' Program Files , you MAY be right , BUT I would seek the advice of some of our more learned ( W S Forum ) members, such as CROCKETT,and HARLEY, etc . on this matter ?.
In respect , to removing Panorama Maker, I do NOT see that as posing any problem , as one is independent, of the other, I hope that this helps you ?

Also, I think the latest version, is 6 ?
Best Regards ,
Jimmy R.
__________________
http://i205.photobucket.com/albums/b...2102SPECCY.jpg , Windows XP Pro with Avast , Windows 7 with Avast ( dual boot )
Superantispyware Pro, , Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware , Spyware Blaster, FIREFOX, OPERA, AntiVir Task Manager , Mamutu
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-27-2007, 03:28 AM
MMFELL's Avatar
MMFELL MMFELL is offline
Retired Computer Techo
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sydney. Australia
Posts: 16,655
Quote:
Originally Posted by RomeoRob
Greetings, again, Dawn ,

Because I am far from being a computer expert , i am not too sure wether one can successfully ''COPY '' Program Files , you MAY be right , BUT I would seek the advice of some of our more learned ( W S Forum ) members, such as CROCKETT,and HARLEY, etc . on this matter ?.
In respect , to removing Panorama Maker, I do NOT see that as posing any problem , as one is independent, of the other, I hope that this helps you ?

Also, I think the latest version, is 6 ?
Best Regards ,
Jimmy R.
Its the install disk not the programs i have (well I hope I have).
__________________
2.67 GHz Intel Core2 Quad 2GB RAM, 150GB + 500GB + 2TB SATA + 1TB Ext, DVD-RW, WinXP Pro (SP3), IE7, Avira, Outpost Firewall, Nero 7, Office XP. Cable. Pics of my Radar & Parrish now retired therapy dogs below.
Google is your friend


Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-27-2007, 01:24 PM
yorkshire lass's Avatar
yorkshire lass yorkshire lass is offline
Using it or Losing it
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Yorkshire, England
Posts: 4,240
Thumbs up Problem sorted

My dilemma has been resolved but not in the way I expected! A VERY KIND member of this Forum (I don't know if he wants me to name him or not)sent me a copy of the programme and also took the time and trouble to help me install it. I have thanked him personally and thanks also to everyone else who took the time and trouble to help me out.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-28-2007, 10:05 AM
MMFELL's Avatar
MMFELL MMFELL is offline
Retired Computer Techo
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sydney. Australia
Posts: 16,655
Well that a good one! saves me finding the install and posting them to you.
__________________
2.67 GHz Intel Core2 Quad 2GB RAM, 150GB + 500GB + 2TB SATA + 1TB Ext, DVD-RW, WinXP Pro (SP3), IE7, Avira, Outpost Firewall, Nero 7, Office XP. Cable. Pics of my Radar & Parrish now retired therapy dogs below.
Google is your friend


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2011 WorldStart, Inc