#1  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:09 PM
howd2007 howd2007 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Computer won't start back up after shutdown

I checked and didn't find this question addressed on the message boa rds and I am about to pull my hair out. When my computer restarts or shuts down it won't boot back up on its own. It doesn't even want to boot back up if I push the power button on the tower or unplug it. I sit for a good 15 minutes trying to get it back on. I can unplug it and wait about 5 minutes and it will boot up. Please someone, help. I am not smart with computers so keep it as simple as you can or I will get lost. Thanks a bunch.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:28 PM
sharber60's Avatar
sharber60 sharber60 is offline
Sharon from BC
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sardis/Vedder Area BC, Can
Posts: 18,113
Have you tried, unplug the power from the back of the PC, hold in the power
button for about 30 seconds..Do you see any flashing lights at all when you do
this? This clears the motherboard, plug back in and then try to start up again.
May not work, but worth a try.
__________________
Dim 5150 XPSP3 3.0GHZ 1GB DDR2 DVD&16X DL,160GB Radeon X300SE Incredimail Gmail Nero9 Avira, SAS, FF3.5.3 IE8 AcomData USB160GB
Dim4550 XPSP3 60GB, P4-2GHZ Avast IE8 FF3.5.3 AcomData USB160 GB
Dim2400 XPSP3 2GHZ 1024GB RAM IE8 FF3.5.3 Nvidia PCI FX5500 USB400GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:31 PM
MikeN.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Its possible the fan on the motheboard is bad, things are overheating and need to cool off before it will restart.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2008, 03:11 PM
Cooter2001's Avatar
Cooter2001 Cooter2001 is offline
Epic Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alberta,Canada
Posts: 3,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by howd2007
I checked and didn't find this question addressed on the message boa rds and I am about to pull my hair out. When my computer restarts or shuts down it won't boot back up on its own. It doesn't even want to boot back up if I push the power button on the tower or unplug it. I sit for a good 15 minutes trying to get it back on. I can unplug it and wait about 5 minutes and it will boot up. Please someone, help. I am not smart with computers so keep it as simple as you can or I will get lost. Thanks a bunch.
Could you provide a little more info please??????

Startin with What Operating System???????

Also What make and model??????

Did you add or remove anything prior to this problem starting???????


Please see the 1st post in this thread and it will give you an idea of the type of info to post when asking a question so it will make it easier for those attempting to help to be able to give you more accurate suggestions rather than guessing at what the possible cause is..........

http://forum.worldstart.com/showthread.php?t=101668

My guess is that maybe you used some kind of registry fixer which removed a crucial file that your system needs.........


Or maybe you page file cache is set to be cleared on shutdown and it is just taking an overly long time to reboot and you are panicking......Mind you this is just a guess and without more info that is all I can do is guess.......
__________________
Just my thoughts on the subject
Crazzy Cooter Cummin at ya


Vista Specs

Crockett's Sticky
Click

Mike Lin's Startup Ctrl Panel
Click


Startup Inspector 2.2
Click

Print Screen Tutorial
Click

Before posting your questions
Click
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2008, 05:28 PM
howd2007 howd2007 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Re: Computer won't start up after shutting down or restarting.

I am running Vista home Premium on a Compaq Presario. I was wondering if a windows update may have caused this. I did run a registry cleaning program awhile back so you might be onto something. How do I check and fix that.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2008, 05:39 PM
Cooter2001's Avatar
Cooter2001 Cooter2001 is offline
Epic Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alberta,Canada
Posts: 3,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by howd2007
I am running Vista home Premium on a Compaq Presario. I was wondering if a windows update may have caused this. I did run a registry cleaning program awhile back so you might be onto something. How do I check and fix that.
Did this problem start shortly after running the registry cleaner??????

Do you recall the name of the registry cleaner you used and do you still have it installed???????

Depending on the registry cleaner it may have saved what it removed and you may be able to restore what it removed......

There are several threads here about how systems have been screwed up with the use of a registry cleaner.......

In every thread here about the use of any type of registry cleaner the general consensus is to avoid the use of them at all cost unless you know and understand every registry entry that is about to be removed prior to removal.....
__________________
Just my thoughts on the subject
Crazzy Cooter Cummin at ya


Vista Specs

Crockett's Sticky
Click

Mike Lin's Startup Ctrl Panel
Click


Startup Inspector 2.2
Click

Print Screen Tutorial
Click

Before posting your questions
Click
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-2008, 11:05 PM
Gen. D's Avatar
Gen. D Gen. D is offline
Major Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Las Vegas, Nv
Posts: 1,163
Won't boot after shutdown

The problem is most likely Your power supply. I have the same problem with a fairly new Antec 480 power supply. It still boots back up on restart but if I turn it off, I have to wait 10 to 15 minutes for it to come back on.
Have done all the test to prove this is the correct diagnosis. Removed All the connectors but the MB and one plug. Turned off and rechecked. No start. Switched the one plug to another and retried. Still no start. I just use it as is until I can get back to the supplier as I think it is still in warranty. Don't appear to have any voltage problems when running. Have checked all and they are normal.
Just thought this may help.
Gen. D.
__________________
ASUS CM6730 COMPUTER, WINDOWS 8.1, i3 PROC., 6 G RAM,. Epson XP 600 Scanner/ printer, EPSON stylus, NX230 scanner/printer, Artisan 1430 PRINTER, ALTEC Snd sys. ViewSonic 22" Monitor. EXT. 1 TB HD .
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-13-2008, 02:36 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 37,558
Sounds like a heat issue or a power supply issue. Have you taken the cover off to make sure the CPU fan and power supply fan are not full of dust. If they are they will not cool the system properly. If either fan is going bad that can happen too. I would start with cleaning the computer. Unplug everything, get a can of air and a q-tip. Take it outside. Use the air to blow the dust out and the q-tip to clean the fans then blow it out again. See if that makes a difference. If not power the computer up while the cover is still off and see if the fans are spinning up properly. Some computers have a case fan that blows the hot air out or pulls cool air into the case. Make sure that is also working. If you have the same problem, I would try replacing the power supply. How old is the computer? Is it still under warranty?
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-13-2008, 10:29 PM
Gen. D's Avatar
Gen. D Gen. D is offline
Major Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Las Vegas, Nv
Posts: 1,163
Restart problems

Hi Sunny,

I really don't think the heat is the problem. I thought so in the beginning then pulled the ps out and sit it on top of the computer where it can breath freely. All the fans are going full speed. However, when I turn the ac off with any switch, unplug, power sw. panel switch etc. it will not start for around 10 minutes or so. I even use the air can to cool it down, no help. So, I doubt if it is a heat problem. Runs fine and no problems whatsoever until shutdown.
Then the waiting starts!
Just My thoughts on the subject. Could be a number of other things also.
Gen. D
__________________
ASUS CM6730 COMPUTER, WINDOWS 8.1, i3 PROC., 6 G RAM,. Epson XP 600 Scanner/ printer, EPSON stylus, NX230 scanner/printer, Artisan 1430 PRINTER, ALTEC Snd sys. ViewSonic 22" Monitor. EXT. 1 TB HD .
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-14-2008, 02:48 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 37,558
The CPU fan may be running but not functioning properly and if the power supply is fault it can cause that type of problem also.
__________________
`Sunny
My Blog
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2011 WorldStart, Inc