#1  
Old 09-20-2009, 05:57 AM
RileyBailey's Avatar
RileyBailey RileyBailey is offline
Lover of Dogs
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: 43.56 N 71.47 W
Posts: 947
Question color coded SATA connectors

I noticed on my motherboard that the four SATA connectors are of four different colors. The HD is plugged into one. If I were to add new hardware would I need to know which connector to use, or could I just plug into anyone ?
__________________
HP Pavilion P6380t (CTO) ~ Ram 8.0 GB ~ HD 600GB ~ Win 7 Professional 64 ~ IE 11 for Windows 7 ~ DSL ~Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT ~ Monitor HP 2511x ~ Hauppauge Dual TV Tuner 2250 ~ Win Live Mail ~ Norton Internet Security Suite 2013 ~ CCleaner ~ Spyware Blaster ~~ Malwarebytes Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2009, 07:31 AM
Owbist Owbist is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Niagara, Canada
Posts: 371
Probably/possibly to do with setting up a RAID array. Why not Google the make and model of your motherboard if you never made the computer or got a manual for it.

You wrote:- The HD is plugged into one, does that mean you plugged in any old one or the #1 socket?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2009, 09:09 AM
RileyBailey's Avatar
RileyBailey RileyBailey is offline
Lover of Dogs
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: 43.56 N 71.47 W
Posts: 947
Out of the box

Quote:
Originally Posted by Owbist View Post
You wrote:- The HD is plugged into one, does that mean you plugged in any old one or the #1 socket?
That's the way it came out of the box when it was new. I'll try googling the motherboard and see if it has any info and the SATA connecters.
__________________
HP Pavilion P6380t (CTO) ~ Ram 8.0 GB ~ HD 600GB ~ Win 7 Professional 64 ~ IE 11 for Windows 7 ~ DSL ~Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT ~ Monitor HP 2511x ~ Hauppauge Dual TV Tuner 2250 ~ Win Live Mail ~ Norton Internet Security Suite 2013 ~ CCleaner ~ Spyware Blaster ~~ Malwarebytes Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-20-2009, 11:48 AM
MMFELL's Avatar
MMFELL MMFELL is offline
Retired Computer Techo
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sydney. Australia
Posts: 16,663
My SATAs are black (4), blue (3) & red (1). Red is used for external adapter, Blacks are what I would call prime and blues are secondary I think!. MOBO is D975XBX2
__________________
2.67 GHz Intel Core2 Quad 2GB RAM, 150GB + 500GB + 2TB SATA + 1TB Ext, DVD-RW, WinXP Pro (SP3), IE7, Avira, Outpost Firewall, Nero 7, Office XP. Cable. Pics of my Radar & Parrish now retired therapy dogs below.
Google is your friend


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-20-2009, 01:50 PM
RileyBailey's Avatar
RileyBailey RileyBailey is offline
Lover of Dogs
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: 43.56 N 71.47 W
Posts: 947
Motherboard spec's

4 SATA connectors
Each connector supports 1 serial Ultra DMA 150 disk drive
Hot Swap function


Black = labeled #1
White= labeled #2
Blue = labeled #3
Yellow = Labeled #4
__________________
HP Pavilion P6380t (CTO) ~ Ram 8.0 GB ~ HD 600GB ~ Win 7 Professional 64 ~ IE 11 for Windows 7 ~ DSL ~Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT ~ Monitor HP 2511x ~ Hauppauge Dual TV Tuner 2250 ~ Win Live Mail ~ Norton Internet Security Suite 2013 ~ CCleaner ~ Spyware Blaster ~~ Malwarebytes Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-20-2009, 08:31 PM
MMFELL's Avatar
MMFELL MMFELL is offline
Retired Computer Techo
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sydney. Australia
Posts: 16,663
In that case use anyone you like - labels are for boot sequence I would think. Only 4 SATA? I have 8 on mine.
__________________
2.67 GHz Intel Core2 Quad 2GB RAM, 150GB + 500GB + 2TB SATA + 1TB Ext, DVD-RW, WinXP Pro (SP3), IE7, Avira, Outpost Firewall, Nero 7, Office XP. Cable. Pics of my Radar & Parrish now retired therapy dogs below.
Google is your friend


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-21-2009, 05:24 AM
wesran's Avatar
wesran wesran is offline
Wiser with each Mistake
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 4,198
I have eight on my MB and you can plug into any one of them and the boot sequence is set in the BIOS(which I just recently learned).
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 2.7GHz dual core CPU
& Win7 dual boot
4 Gb memory
Gigabyte motherboard.
Windows essential- windows firewall-Spyblaster-SAS-Malwarebytes
Toshiba Satellite laptop w[W7 home Premium 64 bit 4 Gb Mem. Kaspersky trail-Win firewall-spyblasre-Malwarebytes
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-21-2009, 07:02 AM
RileyBailey's Avatar
RileyBailey RileyBailey is offline
Lover of Dogs
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: 43.56 N 71.47 W
Posts: 947
Thanks for the replies

Thanks for the the replies---My PC was built in 2005 ---SATA was just coming on the scene and I remember reading that SATA didn't help much other then with the HD at the time.
__________________
HP Pavilion P6380t (CTO) ~ Ram 8.0 GB ~ HD 600GB ~ Win 7 Professional 64 ~ IE 11 for Windows 7 ~ DSL ~Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT ~ Monitor HP 2511x ~ Hauppauge Dual TV Tuner 2250 ~ Win Live Mail ~ Norton Internet Security Suite 2013 ~ CCleaner ~ Spyware Blaster ~~ Malwarebytes Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2011 WorldStart, Inc