#1  
Old 05-29-2011, 12:29 PM
jo12 jo12 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 338
windows 7 defrag

Ok folks, where on earth do i find the defrag program on windows 7. I am in administrative tools but cant find it !
__________________
_NEC DVD_RW ND-2500A [CD-ROM drive]
JLMS XJ-HD166S [CD-ROM drive]
XP Professional Service Pack 2
RADEON 9200 SERIES 128mb
3.0 gigahertz AMD Athlon XP
Maxtor 6Y080L0 HD (81.96 GB)
Seagate T380011A HD(80.03 GB)
Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. K8U-X
1gb RAM
zonealarm
avg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2011, 12:49 PM
Phil's Avatar
Phil Phil is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Old Californian using Windows 7 64bit, Firefox, Chrome, Torch, IE 11 & cable.
Posts: 8,254
This will tell you how.
http://windows.about.com/od/maintain...defragWin7.htm

See also:
http://downloadsquad.switched.com/20...defragmenting/
__________________




Click Here to view latest edition
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2011, 12:59 PM
yorkshire lass's Avatar
yorkshire lass yorkshire lass is offline
Using it or Losing it
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Yorkshire, England
Posts: 4,174
To get to the defraggerin Windows 7, click on the Start button, and type in "disk defragmenter" in the search window at the bottom.
__________________
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2
2.20GHz IntelPentium Dual core
RAM 4GB
External Maxtor HD 250 GB
Avast (free)
Online Armor
Firefox 28.0

Essential Free Security List revised 2012

"To Do is to Be"- Nietzsche
"To Be is to Do" - Kant
"Do Be Do Be Do" - Sinatra
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2011, 02:55 PM
billm65's Avatar
billm65 billm65 is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by jo12 View Post
Ok folks, where on earth do i find the defrag program on windows 7. I am in administrative tools but cant find it !
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...windows-vista/
__________________
BILL
Dell Inspiron 531
Windows XP service pack 3
4GB RAM
____________
Mankind will never see an end of trouble until... lovers of wisdom come to hold political power, or the holders of power... become lovers of wisdom. (Quote by - Plato)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-29-2011, 03:01 PM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 36,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by jo12 View Post
Ok folks, where on earth do i find the defrag program on windows 7. I am in administrative tools but cant find it !
Windows 7 runs disk defragmenter automatically by default. You can adjust the settings if you like. It normally runs once a week. Click start and in the search box type defrag to open the utility.
__________________
~Sunny
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-29-2011, 10:04 PM
force12c's Avatar
force12c force12c is offline
Lost One
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,140
left click start, left click all programs, left click accessories, left click system tools, left click disk defragmenter.
__________________
Dell StudioXPS 9000, 24 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3, EVGA Nvidia GTX560Ti 2GB GDDR5, Outpost Sec. Ste Pro 7.5.2 FF 3.6.28, Seamonkey 2.10.1 Macrium Reflect,Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-29-2011, 10:07 PM
MikeN.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by force12c View Post
left click start, left click all programs, left click accessories, left click system tools, left click disk defragmenter.
Not to be picky but the only left click is on Start, then just move the cursor to All Programs/accessories/system tools/disk defragmenter
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-30-2011, 04:23 AM
wesran's Avatar
wesran wesran is offline
Wiser with each Mistake
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 4,198
Not to be picky either but think you may want to check that out on more than one system Mike because I do have to click on all but "all programs".
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 2.7GHz dual core CPU
& Win7 dual boot
4 Gb memory
Gigabyte motherboard.
Windows essential- windows firewall-Spyblaster-SAS-Malwarebytes
Toshiba Satellite laptop w[W7 home Premium 64 bit 4 Gb Mem. Kaspersky trail-Win firewall-spyblasre-Malwarebytes
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-30-2011, 09:59 AM
billm65's Avatar
billm65 billm65 is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeN. View Post
Not to be picky but the only left click is on Start, then just move the cursor to All Programs/accessories/system tools/disk defragmenter
You must have a different set up than me, Mike, I have to left click all the way through.
__________________
BILL
Dell Inspiron 531
Windows XP service pack 3
4GB RAM
____________
Mankind will never see an end of trouble until... lovers of wisdom come to hold political power, or the holders of power... become lovers of wisdom. (Quote by - Plato)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-30-2011, 10:04 AM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 29,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by billm65 View Post
You must have a different set up than me, Mike, I have to left click all the way through.
No, that is because you have Windows 7, I also have Windows 7 and mine is the same as yours Bill. Windows 7 IS different than the other operating systems.
__________________

1. Dell Inspiron N5040;
Windows 7 64bit
IE11;WLM2012; Firefox v.28.0

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Windows 7 64bit
IE11;WLM2012; Firefox v.28.0
Cable/Wireless
Avira Free; Windows Firewall; SpywareBlaster;
MBA-M; SpyBot;SAS


System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-30-2011, 10:44 AM
Paul_D's Avatar
Paul_D Paul_D is offline
Junior Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 16,421
In Vista at least you have a choice of Start Menu or Classic Start Menu.

In Start Menu you have to click all the way through. Classic Start Menu (which may be the only option in XP - I can't remember) works as Mike stated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Clipboard01.jpg (83.0 KB, 20 views)
__________________

Paul D

Intel Core Duo @ 900 MHz, 1070Gb HDs, 2gb Ram, DVDRW, Vista Home Premium, 2 x 24" Widescreen ASUS LED/LCD Monitors, HDTV Card, ADSL2
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-30-2011, 11:43 AM
wesran's Avatar
wesran wesran is offline
Wiser with each Mistake
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 4,198
I believe the original post said Windows7 defrag.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 2.7GHz dual core CPU
& Win7 dual boot
4 Gb memory
Gigabyte motherboard.
Windows essential- windows firewall-Spyblaster-SAS-Malwarebytes
Toshiba Satellite laptop w[W7 home Premium 64 bit 4 Gb Mem. Kaspersky trail-Win firewall-spyblasre-Malwarebytes
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-30-2011, 12:02 PM
Paul_D's Avatar
Paul_D Paul_D is offline
Junior Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 16,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by wesran View Post
I believe the original post said Windows7 defrag.
My response was to Mike and those that followed him, trying to clarify some misleading information.
__________________

Paul D

Intel Core Duo @ 900 MHz, 1070Gb HDs, 2gb Ram, DVDRW, Vista Home Premium, 2 x 24" Widescreen ASUS LED/LCD Monitors, HDTV Card, ADSL2
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-30-2011, 12:03 PM
Kassie's Avatar
Kassie Kassie is offline
Life's Tough,Get A Helmet
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 30,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by jo12 View Post
Ok folks, where on earth do i find the defrag program on windows 7. I am in administrative tools but cant find it !
Posted by jHolland1964 (Judy).

http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...-turn-off.html
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-31-2011, 07:55 AM
oldgoat's Avatar
oldgoat oldgoat is offline
Senior aged member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Crumpton, Md. THE CROSSROADS OF THE UNIVERSE
Posts: 1,766
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kassie View Post
I click on start, programs, right click on C drive, click on properties, click on tools and there is three choices including defrag. Easy. I have an icon in my Quick Launch to go directly to computer programs.
oldgoat
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-31-2011, 08:12 AM
wesran's Avatar
wesran wesran is offline
Wiser with each Mistake
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 4,198
You lost me because my C drive is not listed in Programs.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 2.7GHz dual core CPU
& Win7 dual boot
4 Gb memory
Gigabyte motherboard.
Windows essential- windows firewall-Spyblaster-SAS-Malwarebytes
Toshiba Satellite laptop w[W7 home Premium 64 bit 4 Gb Mem. Kaspersky trail-Win firewall-spyblasre-Malwarebytes
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-31-2011, 08:22 AM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is offline
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 29,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by wesran View Post
You lost me because my C drive is not listed in Programs.
Never seen it there either.
__________________

1. Dell Inspiron N5040;
Windows 7 64bit
IE11;WLM2012; Firefox v.28.0

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Windows 7 64bit
IE11;WLM2012; Firefox v.28.0
Cable/Wireless
Avira Free; Windows Firewall; SpywareBlaster;
MBA-M; SpyBot;SAS


System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-06-2011, 01:27 PM
go2girl's Avatar
go2girl go2girl is offline
Always Learning
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Daytona Beach, Florida
Posts: 290
In Windows 7,

I can get there either with
Start>Computer> then right click on c:\ to Properties>Tools
which then offers 3 choices: Error-checking, Defragmentation, and Backup.

or

Start>All Programs>Accessories>System Tools>Disk Defragmenter.


Either way, the same screen comes up.

go2girl
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2011 WorldStart, Inc