#1  
Old 04-26-2012, 03:25 AM
digoro digoro is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 440
Question Can't install Adobe flash player

I'm not sure what happened, but when I want to watch something, it tell me I don't have Adobe flash player.
I did before today.
I click on the download flash player, and it starts.
I run through it and it stops at instalation with a message:
"The user does not have sufficient privileges to install Adobe flash player"
Not sure what's going on. What privileges do I need????

I tried the problem solver on the Adobe site, but nothing. No help.

Win XP
IE8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2012, 05:00 AM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 36,785
Quote:
Originally Posted by digoro View Post
I'm not sure what happened, but when I want to watch something, it tell me I don't have Adobe flash player.
I did before today.
I click on the download flash player, and it starts.
I run through it and it stops at instalation with a message:
"The user does not have sufficient privileges to install Adobe flash player"
Not sure what's going on. What privileges do I need????

I tried the problem solver on the Adobe site, but nothing. No help.

Win XP
IE8
Download Adobe Flash Player and save the downloaded file to your desktop. Right click the file and choose "run as administrator"

If that does not work try uninstalling and then reinstalling. See my blog here for directions.
http://adobeflashplayer-shelly.blogspot.com/
__________________
~Sunny
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2012, 02:04 PM
digoro digoro is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 440
Thanks Sunny.
I did download it to the desk top. I didn't right click and run it as administrator.
But, Ithink I fixed it.

I just went to system restore, and restored to last week.
I have flash player again.
I'm not sure what happened. Must have done something that caused flash player to stop working.

I have Avira free and On-line Armor free.
I've noticed that for the last few days, I would get notices that something wanted to install something. with a red "recomended block" notice.
I blocked it.
Not knowing much about these things, I just fallow along.
Could that be what happened to cause Adobe to stop????
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-26-2012, 02:38 PM
jholland1964's Avatar
jholland1964 jholland1964 is online now
Almost Really Old Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Middle
Posts: 29,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by digoro View Post
Thanks Sunny.

But, Ithink I fixed it.

I just went to system restore, and restored to last week.
I have flash player again.
I'm not sure what happened. Must have done something that caused flash player to stop working.

I have Avira free and On-line Armor free.
I've noticed that for the last few days, I would get notices that something wanted to install something. with a red "recomended block" notice.
I blocked it.
Not knowing much about these things, I just fallow along.
Could that be what happened to cause Adobe to stop????
Doreen, I recommend you read the System Restore link in my signature.

There definitely was a new update for Adobe Flash Player to v.11.2.202.233 released on April 13th.

http://forum.worldstart.com/showthread.php?t=159268

so that notice something wanted to install was likely this update.

The "recommended block" likely came from your Online Armor Free. Before blocking anything you should always investigate exactly what it is that this is for before clicking to block it. You need to look in Online Armor and see if you have these Flash player updates blocked and change them to allow. I have my Adobe Flash Player set to notify me if there is an update and I can choose to install it "now or later". Depends on what I am doing at the time, though the updates take just a few seconds so I usually say do it now. These notifications arrive sometime after it has been released, maybe not on the day of release but certainly within a week or 10 days of the release.

Now you used System Restore to take you back a week, which is too far back by the way, a couple days at most would be as far back as you would want to go, but anyway, since you went back to last week then you hopefully will receive this notification again that the update is available. Or you can go the link in the post by Flatiron I lined above to get it, be sure only to take the Flashplayer not anything else offered.

Temporarily turn OFF Online Armor and Avira to install it since you had difficulty before.
__________________

1. Dell Inspiron N5040;
Windows 7 64bit
IE11;WLM2012; Firefox v.28.0

2.Dell Inspiron N7010; Windows 7 64bit
IE11;WLM2012; Firefox v.28.0
Cable/Wireless
Avira Free; Windows Firewall; SpywareBlaster;
MBA-M; SpyBot;SAS


System Restore

Stick with the Clean up
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-26-2012, 04:08 PM
Sunny's Avatar
Sunny Sunny is offline
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 36,785
Quote:
Originally Posted by digoro View Post
Thanks Sunny.
I did download it to the desk top. I didn't right click and run it as administrator.
But, Ithink I fixed it.

I just went to system restore, and restored to last week.
I have flash player again.
I'm not sure what happened. Must have done something that caused flash player to stop working.

I have Avira free and On-line Armor free.
I've noticed that for the last few days, I would get notices that something wanted to install something. with a red "recomended block" notice.
I blocked it.
Not knowing much about these things, I just fallow along.
Could that be what happened to cause Adobe to stop????
Hi digoro, glad system restore worked for you. There are times when running it is useful. You want to keep Adobe Flash Player updated. Many updates address security issues. If your Firewall is blocking those updates that needs to be addressed. You want to allow the updates.
What program is it that is recommending the block?
You need to open that program and look at what is being blocked and decide if it is something that should or shouldn't be blocked.
See these http://www.emsisoft.com/en/info/oa/Options.shtml
http://www.brighthub.com/computing/s...es/125536.aspx

for instructions on how to adjust your Online Armour settings and if that is the program that is recommending the block make sure legitimate programs are not being blocked.
__________________
~Sunny
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2011 WorldStart, Inc