#1  
Old 05-01-2012, 08:04 PM
Tercr6
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Zone Alarm & Antivirus First Look

http://www.pcworld.com/article/25471...hes_today.html

Someone mentioned the AV is powered by Karpinsky.

Compare it to MSE.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2012, 09:19 PM
MikeN.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tercr6 View Post
http://www.pcworld.com/article/25471...hes_today.html

Someone mentioned the AV is powered by Karpinsky.

Compare it to MSE.
From your link


Unfortunately, I can't say my first impression from ZoneAlarm Free Antivirus + Firewall was entirely positive: I picked the detailed installer option to see what the defaults are, and was surprised to discover that ZoneAlarm wants to install a browser toolbar, replace my default homepage and search engine with ZoneAlarm-branded pages, and not provide me with an easy way to undo those changes (even though such a feature exists--the checkbox is disabled by default). NO THANKS

These options are collected on one step of the setup process, making them easy to spot and disable. Having done so, I continued with the setup with no incident. You miss that step and you have all their above mentioned stuff installed

I believe you meant Kaspersky?

Last edited by MikeN.; 05-01-2012 at 09:24 PM. Reason: added info
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2012, 10:58 AM
billm65's Avatar
billm65 billm65 is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tercr6 View Post
http://www.pcworld.com/article/25471...hes_today.html

Someone mentioned the AV is powered by Karpinsky.

Compare it to MSE.
I really doubt it is powered by Kaspersky, they have a very powerful anti-virus of their own.

http://usa.kaspersky.com/products-se...puter-security
__________________
BILL
HP Envy
Windows 8.1
8GB RAm
1 TB HD
____________
Mankind will never see an end of trouble until... lovers of wisdom come to hold political power, or the holders of power... become lovers of wisdom. (Quote by - Plato)

Last edited by billm65; 05-03-2012 at 11:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-03-2012, 11:02 AM
Tercr6
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I'm happy with what I have,and agree NO THANKS.

I do not like it when programs want to add unwanted stuff to my PC.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-03-2012, 03:36 PM
Funtimes's Avatar
Funtimes Funtimes is offline
Epic Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: At my house
Posts: 1,641
What did it want to add?
__________________
Dell Vostro 200 core 2 duo CPU 2.20GHz. Dual boot 8.1 Pro with Media Center Pack and 7 Pro (Separate HD's). Office 2003, 3 GB of RAM. MSE, MBAM, SpywareBlaster, Spybot, Windows Firewall.
Both OS have the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-03-2012, 04:00 PM
MikeN.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Funtimes View Post
What did it want to add?
Its on the link AND in my post just a few above
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2011 WorldStart, Inc