Go Back   WorldStart Tech & Computer Help Forums > PC Ask and Answer Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2004, 12:12 PM
turn_on68's Avatar
turn_on68 turn_on68 is offline
Lost In Space
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Braunfels,Texas
Posts: 1,771
The browser you're using refuses to sign in. (cookies rejected)

I have checked every setting even got yahoo to give me a new password. They say my browser is out of date?
__________________
Intel D945PSN MB,3.40 Ghz Intel PD,4GB RAM,EVGA NVIDIA GeForce 9800GT, Win7 Home Premium SP1, 2007 XP Office, Outlook,IE11,NIS'13

Lee <><

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2004, 05:46 PM
fred1935 fred1935 is offline
Major Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Keighley, West Yorkshire UK
Posts: 810
Lee,
just a small thing but make sure your PC clock is set at the correct time, date, including year.

I had a similar problem some time ago now, spent two days trying to get on, it was Yahoo that sugested checking the clock, mine was showing 2016 or some such. When put right all was well.
__________________
XP Home+ SP3
2.70ghtz Intel Celeron
60GB HD + 80Gb HD
1 TB external Seagate HD
Nvidia Ge Force FX5200
Firefox . + IE8. + Google Chrome
1024Mb Memory.
ADSL BB
Microsoft Security Essentials Anti virus etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2004, 05:48 PM
LARRY's Avatar
LARRY LARRY is offline
Epic Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lapeer, MI
Posts: 3,421
I would do a Windows Update to insure that, IE is up to date.

Click Tools, Windows Update and do a scan.

Larry
__________________
SYX i7 Quad core 3.4 to 3.8 turbo. MSI Dual boot Win 7 Pro SP1 & XP Pro SP3. RAM
24 GB DDR3 PC3 1600. USB 3.0. MS Office 2007. Lite-on Blu Ray and Scribe. Two WD
1 TB SATA 7200 RPM HD's. nVidia GeForce 1GB, 2 X 1 TB WD Passport External HD's
8 CH Realtek surround sound. LG 22" LED Monitor.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2004, 06:04 PM
turn_on68's Avatar
turn_on68 turn_on68 is offline
Lost In Space
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Braunfels,Texas
Posts: 1,771
Quote:
Originally posted by LARRY
I would do a Windows Update to insure that, IE is up to date.

Click Tools, Windows Update and do a scan.

Larry
I did check the clock and all is well it seems I have to turn off NIS and then it works so why now. I did a NAV update this AM.
__________________
Intel D945PSN MB,3.40 Ghz Intel PD,4GB RAM,EVGA NVIDIA GeForce 9800GT, Win7 Home Premium SP1, 2007 XP Office, Outlook,IE11,NIS'13

Lee <><

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2004, 06:07 PM
turn_on68's Avatar
turn_on68 turn_on68 is offline
Lost In Space
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Braunfels,Texas
Posts: 1,771
I am still getting this at MS SCAN
Windows Update Error


Windows Update has encountered an error and cannot display the requested page.

Select from any of the following pages for information about Windows Update services, or send us your feedback.

Windows Update Home Page
About Windows Update
Support Information



You can also get online support if you are having problems with Windows Update.


Send error number to Microsoft (0x800C0005)
Note This sends error information but does not create a support incident; you may or may not receive a response.
__________________
Intel D945PSN MB,3.40 Ghz Intel PD,4GB RAM,EVGA NVIDIA GeForce 9800GT, Win7 Home Premium SP1, 2007 XP Office, Outlook,IE11,NIS'13

Lee <><

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2004, 06:17 PM
turn_on68's Avatar
turn_on68 turn_on68 is offline
Lost In Space
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Braunfels,Texas
Posts: 1,771
So weird I turned off NIS and guess what. now MS will scan so the problem is with NIS.
__________________
Intel D945PSN MB,3.40 Ghz Intel PD,4GB RAM,EVGA NVIDIA GeForce 9800GT, Win7 Home Premium SP1, 2007 XP Office, Outlook,IE11,NIS'13

Lee <><

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-20-2004, 06:17 PM
Bruce's Avatar
Bruce Bruce is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield NJ
Posts: 23,224
Lee, have you checked the Date, Year and Time in BIOS Setup?
__________________


Have a Nice Day

Win 98SE IE 5.5 Cyrix233 128RAM 4Meg reserved for Video 33.6K Modem Office97 AVG ZoneAlarm
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-20-2004, 06:55 PM
turn_on68's Avatar
turn_on68 turn_on68 is offline
Lost In Space
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Braunfels,Texas
Posts: 1,771
Quote:
Originally posted by Bruce
Lee, have you checked the Date, Year and Time in BIOS Setup?
Is this different than my time and date in task bar?
__________________
Intel D945PSN MB,3.40 Ghz Intel PD,4GB RAM,EVGA NVIDIA GeForce 9800GT, Win7 Home Premium SP1, 2007 XP Office, Outlook,IE11,NIS'13

Lee <><

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-20-2004, 07:10 PM
Bruce's Avatar
Bruce Bruce is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield NJ
Posts: 23,224
Lee, Yes it is.
When you first turn your Computer On you should see how to get into Setup, usually the Delete Key. Then on the, ususlly, First Screen there is a setting for Date, Time and Year.
DON'T Change anything unless you know what you are doing.
Just look and see if it is set right.
If it isn't Post Back.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-20-2004, 07:19 PM
turn_on68's Avatar
turn_on68 turn_on68 is offline
Lost In Space
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Braunfels,Texas
Posts: 1,771
Quote:
Originally posted by Bruce
Lee, Yes it is.
When you first turn your Computer On you should see how to get into Setup, usually the Delete Key. Then on the, ususlly, First Screen there is a setting for Date, Time and Year.
DON'T Change anything unless you know what you are doing.
Just look and see if it is set right.
If it isn't Post Back.
Bruce the fact that turning of NIS solved the problem you think it might still be the date and time? F2 goes into set up for me.
__________________
Intel D945PSN MB,3.40 Ghz Intel PD,4GB RAM,EVGA NVIDIA GeForce 9800GT, Win7 Home Premium SP1, 2007 XP Office, Outlook,IE11,NIS'13

Lee <><

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-20-2004, 07:59 PM
Bruce's Avatar
Bruce Bruce is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield NJ
Posts: 23,224
Lee, in a word YES.
The BIOS Clock is seperate from the Windows Clock. Since Norton checks settings during Bootup, as does AVG, if the BIOS Clock is wrong it can cause problems. Even though the Windows Clock is Correct.
Been there done that, Drove me NUTS for almost a month several years ago.
The CMOS Battery was going bad and the BIOS Clock was way Off yet the Windows Clock showed as Correct.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-20-2004, 08:23 PM
turn_on68's Avatar
turn_on68 turn_on68 is offline
Lost In Space
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Braunfels,Texas
Posts: 1,771
I went there and it was right on the money.
__________________
Intel D945PSN MB,3.40 Ghz Intel PD,4GB RAM,EVGA NVIDIA GeForce 9800GT, Win7 Home Premium SP1, 2007 XP Office, Outlook,IE11,NIS'13

Lee <><

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-20-2004, 08:27 PM
Bruce's Avatar
Bruce Bruce is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield NJ
Posts: 23,224
Then there has to be a Coding problem with NIS that is causing the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-20-2004, 08:29 PM
turn_on68's Avatar
turn_on68 turn_on68 is offline
Lost In Space
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Braunfels,Texas
Posts: 1,771
Well I made some changes in the who I can log on to and who is blocked. That may have fixed it.
__________________
Intel D945PSN MB,3.40 Ghz Intel PD,4GB RAM,EVGA NVIDIA GeForce 9800GT, Win7 Home Premium SP1, 2007 XP Office, Outlook,IE11,NIS'13

Lee <><

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-20-2004, 08:42 PM
JohnF JohnF is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,360
Are you useing SBC DSL and does it have (something Yahoo something) on top of your browser.
My sister had this dsl from SBC and she couldn't get the microsoft internet explorer browser to work either.
Let us know which browser your useing, under help and about, should tell you name and version.
__________________
~Dell XP SP3~
JESUS Is LORD
Amos 8:11 Behold, the days come, saith the Lord GOD, that I will send a famine in the land,
not a famine of bread, nor a thirst for water, but of hearing the words of the LORD.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2011 WorldStart, Inc