#1  
Old 06-30-2004, 09:31 AM
daisy daisy is offline
Major Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 811
Top half of my home page is missing!

I have xp and use comcast cable and the top half of my homepage has been gone for a couple months. The revolving pictures part on the top is the part that is gone. I work around it by adding google to my favorites,etc. But I would like it back! I have called them a couple times and they had me install any updated Java and Macromedia but it didn't help. The odd part is that my son has the same thing and he is also has xp and uses comcast cable. We both have laptops and it is fine on the laptop!
Mine was lost during a routine deleting of cookies and history.
thanks, daisy
__________________
--------------------
Gateway desktop- Windows 8, Intel core i5 processor, 8GB DDR3-1TB HD- Comcast internet, Norton security
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-30-2004, 09:50 AM
Crockett's Avatar
Crockett Crockett is offline
Giddy Up!
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: On top of old Smokey
Posts: 24,582
Do you mean the browser (Internet Explorer) toolbar is different, but the homepage is the same?
__________________


Virus Infections/Hijacked?

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-30-2004, 10:15 AM
MMFELL's Avatar
MMFELL MMFELL is offline
Retired Computer Techo
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sydney. Australia
Posts: 16,663
Can you do a screen shot of it and post it back to us please?
__________________
2.67 GHz Intel Core2 Quad 2GB RAM, 150GB + 500GB + 2TB SATA + 1TB Ext, DVD-RW, WinXP Pro (SP3), IE7, Avira, Outpost Firewall, Nero 7, Office XP. Cable. Pics of my Radar & Parrish now retired therapy dogs below.
Google is your friend


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2004, 10:20 AM
daisy daisy is offline
Major Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 811
I have that bar at the top that has all the stuff on it ~ like the favorites, the envelope to open OE ,printer, note pad etc. That is fine!

My comcast has a section that has "revolving" pictures of current news events, etc. And the search bar is there too. I have all the rest of items but no pictures and no search bar. They said it is "written" in a different computer language like macromedia or Java. I had those but they had me go to thosae web sites and re-do them. It didn't help.

Editing to say that I have no idea how to do the screen shot. Sorry. Those "dummy" books had me in mind!!
__________________
--------------------
Gateway desktop- Windows 8, Intel core i5 processor, 8GB DDR3-1TB HD- Comcast internet, Norton security
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-30-2004, 12:13 PM
Phil's Avatar
Phil Phil is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Old Californian using Windows 7 64bit, Firefox, Chrome, Torch, IE 11 & cable.
Posts: 8,403
Thanks to Brett for this link which should help if you have a java problem - which it sounds like you do.
http://inetexplorer.mvps.org/answers_9.htm#java2
__________________




Click Here to view latest edition
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2011 WorldStart, Inc