Go Back   WorldStart Tech & Computer Help Forums > Digital Imaging

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2004, 07:11 AM
Jaberwoc's Avatar
Jaberwoc Jaberwoc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NW. England.
Posts: 2,743
Tutorial; Resizing Images with Irfanview.

Hi all,
I feel some of our members may find this tut of use. What most of us take as an easy task can be a mystery to others. If this helps only a few people I think it's worthwhile. Hope you all agree.

To Size a picture for posting using Irfanwiew

1. Open your pic in Irfanview, then click on the image menu and select resize (see SS#003)

2. In the Resize window that opens, enter a width of 600-700 pixels,providing there is a tick in the "Preserve Aspect Ratio" box the height will automatically adjust. (see SS#004)
( 600-700 pixels width gives a reasonably sized picture to post). Click OK to resize the picture.

3. To save your picture, in the file menu select "Save As" and the Save window opens + a JPG/GIF Save Options window( see SS'005).
Give the picture a suitable title, note for convenience when posting I save the pic to Desktop, and note in the other window that the default PG compression is set at 80%, moving the slider lower reduces file size and picture quality.( See SS#006).
Try saving at this default setting. Minimise the window to expose the desktop, right click on your saved picture file and select properties, check that the file size is below the 100 KB required for posting by this board( see SS#007), if not return to Irfanview window, and move the slider to the left reduce file size, don't overdo this as the more you compress reduces your picture quality. Once satisfied you can save all for good and close Irfanview.

Note
While the above is applied to Irfanview, all other image progs will have similar means for resizing Pics.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SS#004.jpg (46.8 KB, 527 views)
File Type: jpg SS#005.jpg (50.9 KB, 316 views)
File Type: jpg SS#006.jpg (59.4 KB, 291 views)
File Type: jpg SS#007.jpg (31.4 KB, 265 views)
File Type: jpg SS#003.jpg (33.2 KB, 322 views)
__________________
... Jack

Link to Irfanview Resize Tutorial :-- Click Here
Homebrew AMD64 Athlon X2 + 4G/Bytes DDR2 Ram
Cameras ... HP Photosmart 850 + Canon A95 + Pentax K100D
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2004, 07:20 AM
Jaberwoc's Avatar
Jaberwoc Jaberwoc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NW. England.
Posts: 2,743
Here's the testshot I used while writing the tutorial, I should display at a reasonable size.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Testshot.jpg (77.7 KB, 332 views)
__________________
... Jack

Link to Irfanview Resize Tutorial :-- Click Here
Homebrew AMD64 Athlon X2 + 4G/Bytes DDR2 Ram
Cameras ... HP Photosmart 850 + Canon A95 + Pentax K100D
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2004, 04:37 PM
robarro robarro is offline
save 1 at a time
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaberwoc
don't overdo this as the more you compress reduces your picture quality. Once satisfied you can save all for good and close Irfanview.
that is the reason i seldomly resize w/irfanview, it's got some of the worse algorithms for decreasing file sizes i seen. please don't get me wrong-irfanview is a great proggy and the price is right.
for resizing you really can't beat photoshop elements .
i think it's even better than PSPro.
adobe rocks in this area.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2004, 05:22 AM
Jaberwoc's Avatar
Jaberwoc Jaberwoc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NW. England.
Posts: 2,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by robarro
that is the reason i seldomly resize w/irfanview, it's got some of the worse algorithms for decreasing file sizes i seen. please don't get me wrong-irfanview is a great proggy and the price is right.
for resizing you really can't beat photoshop elements .
i think it's even better than PSPro.
adobe rocks in this area.
Roy,
I've got to admit, I don't use Irfanview that much either, I did the tutorial in that because it's so popular. Oftener than not I use Picture Publisher 7.0 by Micrographix, I've used it since version 4.0 and got 7.0 with my scanner, so it's one image program I know fairly well, and am very comfortable with.
__________________
... Jack

Link to Irfanview Resize Tutorial :-- Click Here
Homebrew AMD64 Athlon X2 + 4G/Bytes DDR2 Ram
Cameras ... HP Photosmart 850 + Canon A95 + Pentax K100D
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2004, 05:55 AM
Jaberwoc's Avatar
Jaberwoc Jaberwoc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NW. England.
Posts: 2,743
Bump, people seem to be still reading this, so I'll boost it to the top.
__________________
... Jack

Link to Irfanview Resize Tutorial :-- Click Here
Homebrew AMD64 Athlon X2 + 4G/Bytes DDR2 Ram
Cameras ... HP Photosmart 850 + Canon A95 + Pentax K100D
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-16-2004, 07:12 AM
Just Rachel's Avatar
Just Rachel Just Rachel is offline
99% sugar free
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: McCloud, CA ~~The State of Jefferson
Posts: 7,551
Thanks for taking the time to write this tutorial Jaberwoc!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-17-2004, 04:10 AM
Jaberwoc's Avatar
Jaberwoc Jaberwoc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NW. England.
Posts: 2,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsrmarley
Thanks for taking the time to write this tutorial Jaberwoc!
Your welcome Rachel, long time no see ???.
__________________
... Jack

Link to Irfanview Resize Tutorial :-- Click Here
Homebrew AMD64 Athlon X2 + 4G/Bytes DDR2 Ram
Cameras ... HP Photosmart 850 + Canon A95 + Pentax K100D
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-17-2004, 12:07 PM
Just Rachel's Avatar
Just Rachel Just Rachel is offline
99% sugar free
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: McCloud, CA ~~The State of Jefferson
Posts: 7,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaberwoc
Your welcome Rachel, long time no see ???.
I've been working out of town for about two weeks. Got to come home for the weekend, then back again tomorrow. Hopefully I'll be home for good next weekend. Here's where I've been and what I've been doing if you're curious.

http://fundmpc.com/~mpc/forums/showt...8145#post78145
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-17-2004, 01:48 PM
robarro robarro is offline
save 1 at a time
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsrmarley
I've been working out of town for about two weeks. Got to come home for the weekend, then back again tomorrow. Hopefully I'll be home for good next weekend. Here's where I've been and what I've been doing if you're curious.

http://fundmpc.com/~mpc/forums/showt...8145#post78145
hey rach,
i just registered at mpc. see you there.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-19-2004, 03:58 AM
Jaberwoc's Avatar
Jaberwoc Jaberwoc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NW. England.
Posts: 2,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsrmarley
I've been working out of town for about two weeks. Got to come home for the weekend, then back again tomorrow. Hopefully I'll be home for good next weekend. Here's where I've been and what I've been doing if you're curious.

http://fundmpc.com/~mpc/forums/showt...8145#post78145
Thanks Rachel, we missed you.
__________________
... Jack

Link to Irfanview Resize Tutorial :-- Click Here
Homebrew AMD64 Athlon X2 + 4G/Bytes DDR2 Ram
Cameras ... HP Photosmart 850 + Canon A95 + Pentax K100D
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-13-2004, 11:26 AM
JohnF JohnF is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,360
Bump
__________________
~Dell XP SP3~
JESUS Is LORD
Amos 8:11 Behold, the days come, saith the Lord GOD, that I will send a famine in the land,
not a famine of bread, nor a thirst for water, but of hearing the words of the LORD.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-18-2004, 02:57 PM
bar5's Avatar
bar5 bar5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaberwoc
Hi all,
I feel some of our members may find this tut of use. What most of us take as an easy task can be a mystery to others. If this helps only a few people I think it's worthwhile. Hope you all agree.

To Size a picture for posting using Irfanwiew

1. Open your pic in Irfanview, then click on the image menu and select resize (see SS#003)

2. In the Resize window that opens, enter a width of 500 - 600 pixels,providing there is a tick in the "Preserve Aspect Ratio" box the height will automatically adjust. (see SS#004)
( 500 - 600 pixels width gives a reasonably sized picture to post). Click OK to resize the picture.

3. To save your picture, in the file menu select "Save As" and the Save window opens + a JPG/GIF Save Options window( see SS'005).
Give the picture a suitable title, note for convenience when posting I save the pic to Desktop, and note in the other window that the default PG compression is set at 80%, moving the slider lower reduces file size and picture quality.( See SS#006).
Try saving at this default setting. Minimise the window to expose the desktop, right click on your saved picture file and select properties, check that the file size is below the 100 KB required for posting by this board( see SS#007), if not return to Irfanview window, and move the slider to the left reduce file size, don't overdo this as the more you compress reduces your picture quality. Once satisfied you can save all for good and close Irfanview.

Note
While the above is applied to Irfanview, all other image progs will have similar means for resizing Pics.

Thanks for this info. I certainly can use this, as I'm a novice at using Irfanview. I also just ordered PSP 8 and am anxious to know how to learn to use it. Haven't received the CD yet, in the mail.

Barb
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-18-2004, 03:17 PM
HARLEY's Avatar
HARLEY HARLEY is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MONTREAL~
Posts: 30,187
Actually Steve has some great tips on this subject that I didn't realize!

http://www.worldstart.com/tips/tips.php/129
__________________



DVD help

Photofiltre Graphic Editor



Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-31-2005, 05:26 AM
JohnF JohnF is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,360
To Size a picture for posting using Irfanwiew

Bump, I searched for this couple of days ago and couldn't fine it, I wanted to send to a friend.

Also couldn't fine the one Roy made.

Last edited by JohnF; 01-31-2005 at 05:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-31-2005, 03:50 PM
robarro robarro is offline
save 1 at a time
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5,160
the one roy made????????
which one???????????
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-31-2005, 04:34 PM
JohnF JohnF is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by robarro
the one roy made????????
which one???????????
Well I was thinking I had posted a question or whatever into the thread not just the first bump. Sorry about that I looked at 1 picture and should have looked at all.
Need to keep this bumped more. LOL Easier to show this thread then explain it over a messenger.
Take care
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-06-2005, 11:19 AM
JohnF JohnF is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,360
Bumping to the top
__________________
~Dell XP SP3~
JESUS Is LORD
Amos 8:11 Behold, the days come, saith the Lord GOD, that I will send a famine in the land,
not a famine of bread, nor a thirst for water, but of hearing the words of the LORD.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-06-2005, 11:54 AM
calicajun's Avatar
calicajun calicajun is offline
In Your Mind
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Quartz Hill, CA
Posts: 3,800
Well, that works, thanks John for re-posting this thread and to Jack for originally posting this tutorial. I knew there was something simple I was missing, forgot about the compression settings. Seems, I am always trying to get the highest resolution for my pictures at home when printing, just couldn't get my mind to think in the opposite direction.

Thanks,

Craig
__________________
Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Remember, Stressed spelled backward is Desserts.
Gateway, 8GIG Memory, Canon 40D Cameras,
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-06-2005, 12:16 PM
JohnF JohnF is offline
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by calicajun
Well, that works, thanks John for re-posting this thread and to Jack for originally posting this tutorial. I knew there was something simple I was missing, forgot about the compression settings. Seems, I am always trying to get the highest resolution for my pictures at home when printing, just couldn't get my mind to think in the opposite direction.

Thanks,

Craig
Your Welcome
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-06-2005, 12:51 PM
geo175's Avatar
geo175 geo175 is offline
The Fifth Element
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Big Apple
Posts: 284
Quote:
See, each time you resave the photo (not open and close, but resave it) you sacrifice some image quality on the alter of high compression. Every time a JPEG is re-compressed, some of the "imperfect" information that was created when the photo was previously compressed is made even more "imperfect". Bottom line, the more you re-save a JPEG image, the more it's going to deteriorate.
Can I "save as" and use a different name and not loose quallity in my jpeg image. For instance image1__________save as image2. would image2 have less quality than image1?
__________________

Dell XPS 8700 desktop, Windows 7 Pro, Intel Core i7 CPU processor, 2.8 GHZ, 8 Gigs of Ram.Chrome.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2011 WorldStart, Inc